Where Do You See Steemit In 5 Years? - May 30 Days Writing Challenge by @dragosrouasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

This is my seventh post in this challenge. My previous entry to this challenge:
What’s Your Most Consistent Hobby For The Last 5 Years? - May 30 Days Writing Challenge by @dragosroua.

I am very positive about Steemit

I am very positive about Steemit, especially after I consider the increase of the price of the Steem and the Steem Dollars (SBD) during the end of the last year and the number of the members and the posts/comments are surely constantly increasing, but because the price of the Steem and the Steem Dollars (SBD) can change a lot even in a few days/months, I am not able to tell where Steemit will be in 5 years. I can't even tell a few months.

The importance of the apps and the posts and the comments of the community

Let's see why I am positive.
As @dragosroua mentioned, there are a lot of apps on the top of the Steem blockchain, including Busy.org and Utopian.io.
@dragosroua didn't mentioned Utopian.io, but I think that Utopian.io is one of best projects/initiations on the Steem blockchain.
Utopian.io is a great initiation, where the opensource contributions (including development, translations, suggestions, bug reports and other things) are rewarded, so thanks to that, there is actual, useful and helpful work and value behind the Blockchain.
I say this, because there are a lot of spammers and "shit posters" on Steemit. A lot of people are upvoting spam and/or spam/like content (mostly their own two words comments) and unorigional posts and that's not good for Steemit.

But all in all, despite the negative arguments, I can say/mention much more positive than negative arguments about Steemit.

Busy (as well as Utopian) is allowing you the usage of the voting slider, even if you have less than 500 Steem Power and you can get a good upvote from Busy, if you use the "busy" tag on your posts. Utopian is also upvoting the contributions with a very good value.

And these are just two apps on top of the Steem blockchain.
Who knows what and how many others will come in the future.

Let's speak about the minnows and the voting slider

Let's say you currently have 200 Steem Power. If you use one of the mentioned platforms above, you can use the voting slider on them, but on Steemit.com, you can't (unless you have at least 500 Steem Power).
Currently (2018.05.09, 13:30 CEST) your voting value is $0.04 on 100%, if you have 200 Steem Power. If you set your upvote to 50% on a post/comment, then your upvote will be worth $0.02.
There is a voting strenght and a voting power.
If you upvote something with 100% voting strenght, then it will take 2% of your voting power. Our voting power is recharging 20% every day. So you may upvote 10 posts/comments daily with 100% to keep your voting power above 80%. But if you use only 50% voting strenght, you can upvote 20 post/comments daily. You can use whatever percentage you want.
Even less than 1%, but that is obviously only reccommended, if you have big amount of Steem Power in you account.
Big amount currently means at least hundreds of Steem Power.
For example: If you have 10 000 Steem Power, your upvote is currently worth $2.31 on 100% voting power and if you use 1% voting strenght, your upvote will worth $0.02.
If you use 0.50% voting strenght, your upvote will worth $0.01.

My current approach on Steemit

Steemit is an amazing platform, but everything is depending on the community.
I think we are very good so far.
I bought food and a hot plate in the previous weeks thanks to the Steemit platform and the support of the Steemit community, so Steemit is already helped my life!
I am very grateful and very happy for Steemit and the support/help of the community! Thank you so much!

Nowadays I am investing a lot of time into Steemit and I set the reward method to "100% Steem Power" on most of my posts (including this post).

But again, I am VERY positive about Steemit, because this is a revolutionary platform, which already helped a lot of people's lifes, including my brother's and my own life (we live together in a little village in the countryside of Hungary) and as I said above, I am very grateful and very happy for the help/support!

I am trying to upvote the posts and the comments of the community every day to support them and return (at least on some level) the help/support that I am receiving from them (this probably also includes you) and I am also trying to interact with them/you.

I think, if we (the community of Steemit) stick together and help each other, Steemit will be even more amazing and awesome than today!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and thank you to all of you for your continuous support!

See you tomorrow!

Sort:  

You are indeed very optimistic about future of steemit. I wish I would share your opinion.

The biggest problem I see is lack of transparency from developers. Noone really knows much about future changes.

And some of those changes are very scary...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43