What’s Your Most Consistent Hobby For The Last 5 Years? - May 30 Days Writing Challenge by @dragosrouasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

This is my sixth post in this challenge. My previous entry to this challenge:
Name 3 Things That Must Be Done Immediately To Make Steemit.com A Better Experience - May 30 Days Writing Challenge by @dragosroua.

My most consistent hobby in the previous 5 years is amateur radio, but an amateur radio is not just a hobby. It is also good for emergency communications.

It's actually 6 years from this (2018) year.
I am a licensed amateur radio operator since 2012. My callsign is HA5KZO.
My current equipment is a Yaesu FT-450D HF/50 MHz Transceiver, Inverted-V antenna for 7 MHz, which is installed in the garden on a fishing pole.
The center of the antenna is 7 meters above the ground.
I am doing voice communications (mostly SSB) and digital (BPSK31, RTTY, JT65, JT9, FT8 and other modes) as well.
I made and I still making many contacts from all over the world.

My Steemit registration is related to this, because I originally registered on Steemit to earn enough money to able to buy the Elecraft KX2 with the necessary accessories. The Elecraft KX2 is "the smallest full-featured HF radio on the planet" and "Current drain is as little as 135 mA, yielding up to 8 hours of typical operation on a single battery charge".
These properties makes this transceiver perfect for portable use and also for an emergency/green station.
But I will not buy the radio in the near future due to an unexpected, expensive gas (summary) bill and other expenses. For more information, please read my previous Steemit post:
I will probably not buy the transceiver due to an unexpected, expensive bill and other things.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and thank you to all of you for your continuous support!

See you tomorrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68434.91
ETH 3745.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66