The comment section under the blog posts of @originalworks is currently so toxic!

in #steemit5 years ago

About the comment section under the blog posts of @originalworks

The comment section under the blog posts of @originalworks is currently so toxic!

What I mean?

A lot of spam-like comments gets upvoted by @originalworks and by other people.
For example:
The current top comment under the 2300 STEEM ~ Sponsored Writing Contest: Patron is written by @lararose, and it says "Really love this contest".
This comment currently has 6 upvotes and a potential payout of $0.13.
The second most upvoted comment is written by @good-darma, and it says "A big contest ...".
This comment currently has 4 upvotes and a potential payout of $0.13.
The third most upvoted comment is written by @betzy, and it says "YEAH!!!!!!".
This comment currently has 4 upvotes and a potential payout of $0.13
But submission links (for example this, this, this, this and this) get basically ignored at the same time.
None of those submission comments have received an upvote so far.
Okay, one of those submission comments have 1 upvote, but that is a self-upvote by @whatsontrend.
I don't like comment self-upvoters by default, but I can understand this in some level in this case.
The relevant comments are getting ignored, and the spammers are getting upvoted.
The revelant comments are getting burried under the spam comments.
This is frustrating, and I didn't even participate in that contest.
The self-upvoter is clearly doing self-upvoting to get some visibility in this case.
And this is just one blog post of @originalworks.

This is so sad! This is so bad! This is so disappointing!

Please do not encourage spammers and people, who look for a quick upvote!
This can discourage original authors!

This is just my opinion, but probably original authors and people, who put a lot of time, effort and work into their posts and comments are agree with this.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Yeah, if you check out the previous posts by @originalworks it's exactly the same... I thought initially that they just voted on the quickest comments, but in their last contest a 'no value nothing' comment got a big upvote even ignoring earlier comments.

It's definitely very strange... and yeah, can't help but wonder if there is some weird circle-jerking happening here.

That said... 2 contests ago it looks like people who won didn't get paid... but in their previous contest it looks like everyone got their winnings. At the end of the day though, I'm pretty happy that originalworks is bringing business to the Steem blockchain... even if some of the goings-on are a little strange.

I'm pretty sure the actual contest is managed via their contestbot rather than the upvotes on their post comments.

For starters originalworks did stop posting for a while so there might have been something going on there. As for upvoting Spam comments that might be on a first come first serve basis or some other algorithm we don't know yet.

Now there is another aspect of SPAM COMMENT which is the fact that the person writing it might not have English as their Native language and thus might have trouble expressing themselves properly in English.

There are a lot of factors that need to be considered once you look into Spam Comments usually when I find such comment I go into their Blog and check all past Comments and see if they are actually Spamming or just having a tough time with language.

My native language is also not English. I am Hungarian, which is known as one of the hardest languages on Earth. Sometimes I also have troubles with expressing myself in English, but not knowing English properly/well or knowing it on a low level does not give the right of spamming to anyone.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Xplosive from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hei broe,,, what are you saying !..... Delete my name in your post ... I have nothing to do with you, otherwise I will report you with @dtube and the @onelovedtube team, and @nathanmars

Posted using Partiko Android

Report me? For what? I am just stating some facts.
Why I have mentioned your name?
Because you wrote "A big contest ..." comment, and your comment is the second most upvoted comment under that blog post.
That is not necessarily your bad. But revelant comments (comments with submission links) are getting ignored under that (and under other) blog post(s).
This is what I am saying.

Don't call me spam !

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't call you spam. I call your above mentioned "A big contest ..." comment spam. Because that is what it is.
Saying "A big contest..." is very similar to saying "Nice post".
Not so informative. But the main problem is the fact that these comments are getting upvoted INSTEAD of the relevant ones.

Nem értik ám mit mondasz :D A tények felismerése nem az erőssége az ilyen tagoknak, nem véletlen, hogy a kommentjeik között sem találni csiszolatlan gyémántokat. Egymást felszavazgatják, aztán ennyi.

Why would you report him to random other, non-connected people? Who you've already tagged here?

Please @xplosive it's all my fault. I don't know that self upvoting is a spam, I will remove my upvote. What you are doing is a great work, I appreciate you. I'm feeling guilty. Please remove my mention too.

Posted using Partiko Android

No, self-upvoting is NOT spam. It is NOT your fault. Please don't remove the self-upvote on that comment.
I wrote in my blog post that I actually understand your self-upvote in this situation.
You wrote a completely relevant comment under that blog post, which deserves attention and appreciation.

Thanks, @xplosive that you understand my situation but it's too late, I already removed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61