I stop the daily posting about my road to 500 Steem Power (2018.09.01)

in #steemit6 years ago

What, when and why?

17 days ago I started a daily posting challenge about my road to 500 Steem Power.
I was thinking about stopping it since a few days, but now I decided to stop it.
I didn't wanted to collect it for myself. I mean I didn't wanted to collect the Steem Power for personal purposes. Like a lot of people do.
If you check my upvotes, you can see that I stopped upvoting my own posts approximately 5 months ago, so almost since a half year. The last time I upvoted one of my own posts was on 2018.03.20.
I am on Steemit since 2017.05.17, so more than a year.
Still only a few people cares about my posts. My posts are earning cents, no matter what I post, what I do.
Reaching 500 Steem Power with these amounts would take 2-3 years or more. And for what?
For a $0.02 upvote value? This is not worth my time and especially not my health.
Even if it would be more, it would still not worth it.
If you like to know more about my health, please read one of my conversations with @mazzle.
I changed my mind about writing more comments since then.
I need to reduce the computer usage. I need to spare my eyes.

I reach 500 Steem Power, when (if) I reach it

I continue to support (upvote) the posts and the comments of the community.
But I will try to reduce the computer usage to spare my eyes.

Thank you for reading and thank you for understanding!
Have a nice day!

Sort:  

LEARNING is better than EARNING

Hey @xplosive, lasting power depends on being here primarily to write and read. I am convinced that "earning" can only be of secondary importance. Yes, earning is nice and some people are going to earn a lot but most users are going to only make token amounts - they should be taken only as that little sign that someone actually cared enough for your post to use her voting power (which is still more than a careless "clap" on Medium or a like on FB or an upvote on Quora).

This place is perfectly suited to bloggers, people who started writing because they felt a calling to it before thinking whether it will be profitable or not

I think that you misunderstand my blog post.
I am not talked about earnings (at least not for myself) and especially not about profits (of any kind).
I am not posting for earnings and especially not for profits.
I mentioned in the blog post that "I didn't wanted to collect it for myself. I mean I didn't wanted to collect the Steem Power for personal purposes. Like a lot of people do."
I even mentioned in the blog post the fact that I stopped upvoting my own posts approximately 5 months ago.

A few months ago I powered down and cashed out more than 200 Steem.
I currently have enough money for everything I like to do and accomplish in real life.
So you can say I posted for earnings in the past, but not anymore.
Nowadays I could buy more than 1200 Steem with the low Steem price ($0.958 USD), but I won't.
I wanted to earn 500 Steem Power to be able to give at least $0.02 upvotes to the community.
I don't stop the daily posting due to/because of the low earnings.
I stop the daily posting because of my health. Primarily to spare my eyes.
Because reaching 500 Steem Power by the few cents I earn with Steemit would take 2-3 years.
I am visually impaired and my eyes are more important than this.

Indeed, I arrived at your post without context, meanwhile I read a few other replies and comments you made and things are clearer. Still, even if it does not apply to you, would you say that you disagree with the substance of my comment ? :-)

The substance of your comment is true in general, so I wouldn't (and I won't/don't) say that I disagree with that.

Yeah, I can understand you. I also stop posting so much lately :D

But maybe you will get to that SP anyway, who knows?

Currently I could buy much more, but I won't. I save the money for a goal in my real life.
It's depending on the community.
I only upvote the posts and the comments of the community since approximately 5 months, so upvoting my posts/comments is a win-win situation.

Congratulations @xplosive! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

better posting about your passion or everything worth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83