You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Down-Voting as Censorship" - A Series About Fixing Steemit - Part 2

in #steemit6 years ago

Such a great idea I started looking for the Appeals Button. ;-) I recently wrote about a Thunderstorm and incurred the wrath of two downvoters. I was a bit surprised because the post had nothing to do with politics or hate speech; it told the story of a weary driver smelling a desert thunderstorm and getting refreshed. Anyway, I let it go because I'm so new I didn't know what to do honestly.

Another time I was downvoted because the wrong whale supported me. Sort of a blanket downvote to warn others to stay out of the pond.

The second time really hurt because it was a piece of fiction and again, I stay away from politics.

I read both of your posts on Speech Suppression and it gave me much to ponder. Thanks.

Sort:  

@wordymouth,

Excellent commentary and very well articulated.

Another time I was downvoted because the wrong whale supported me. Sort of a blanket downvote to warn others to stay out of the pond.

This kind of nonsense is intolerable. Freedom of Association.

... and again, I stay away from politics

But you shouldn't have to. You have a right to articulate your thoughts as others have a right to articulate theirs. Not to put too fine a point on it ... but you are censoring yourself because you are unwilling to pay the price of being uncensored. NOTHING in life is free. If your mind is not allowed to generate thoughts worthy of mention, then what's the point of your having one?

"All it takes for evil to prevail in the world is for men of good conscience to say nothing." (An additional misquote of an endlessly misquoted quote).

I believe my proposal would resolve this matter in a simple and straight-forward manner. The world is neither beautiful nor ugly. It is both. To get the former, you tolerate the latter. That's what Freedom of Speech means.

To all readers of this comment: I have done a thing in the writing of this post. Now you must do a thing for its distribution. We all know how this works. In less than six days, it will expire and no one will ever see it again. ReSteem the post and make it the subject of a thousand conversations. If there's something wrong with my proposal ... fine, what is it? I have articulated why I believe we should do it, let those who disagree articulate why we should not.

Quill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35