💡 Are people really getting rich 💰 using bots and upvote services ❓

in #steemit6 years ago

There is a perception that people are getting rich using bots and upvote services.

  • Being a numbers kind of guy, I thought I would do a study to see if that is true.
    • Unless I'm missing something, that is not true.
      • It is a misperception that people are getting rich using bots and upvote services.

I picked the top trending post of the day to look at...

  • Warning about phishing links by @deathwing
    • An important Public Service Announcement you should read!!!
      • Please NOTE! I am not at all picking on @deathwing.
        I think it's great that they did what it took to make their PSA visible to everyone.

android-161184_960_720.png

bots & upvote services used

botamountconverted to $payout
@upme30.000 SBD50.70 $50.22 $
@smartsteem15.000 SBD25.3535.63 $
@buildawhale13.000 SBD21.9728.25 $
@postpromoter10.000 SBD16.9018.89 $
@appreciator6.000 SBD10.1410.88 $
@smartmarket25.000 SBD42.25?
@smartmarket14.000 SBD23.66?
@smartmarket5.000 SBD8.45?
@smartmarket5.000 SBD8.45?
Total122.998 SBD207.87240.83 $

Current 1 SBD value = 1.690 USD

Total spent = 122.998 * 1.690 = 207.86662 = what we got above

The post is setting at $240.83 payout

  • times 75% (author payout) = 180.6225
  • Assuming no curation

They lost $27.25

  • They spent 207.87
  • Their income is 180.62

Additional upvotes

NOTE: @smartmarket is an upvote purchasing

Top 4 payouts. Can we ASSume these came from smartmarket???

userpayout
@xaero143.33 $
@xeldal27.22 $
@geoffrey5.24 $
@alexis5553.42 $

From the comments

Tools I used for this study

https://steemworld.org/@deathwing

  • Scroll down to recent posts and look for the title of the post. Click that.
    • It opens up and shows you several tabs.
      • Summary, votes, images, replies, resteems & transfers.
  • I used the transfers tab to show what transfers had been done regarding this post.
    • I also verified that by taking a peek at his wallet.
  • I used the votes tab to see who voted and the value of that upvote.

Conclusion

Not all bots are profitable.

  • People are not necessarily getting rich from using bots and upvote services.

WizNOTE: This is not at all a conclusive study. It simply looked at 1 post...

  • Actual payouts are likely to change in 7 days

Please comment if you see a problem with my logic or calculations!!!

  • I've only been on Steemit 41 days and am learn something new every day about the platform.
Image sources: pixabay.com and smartsteem.com
wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
Sort:  

Yet another great well thought out post so I'll add my two cents. Well not really I think my upvote is only worth about .0005 cents hey wait I can also resteem maybe that'd add more to the love I show for this post

The whole bot thing is IMO a bad thing. It is the main reason for me getting away from FB and youtube. takes away from the over all blockchain theme. If i could I'd make a bot killer bot!

Hey, thanks for the mention. Loved your research, even I did not know how much I was losing, it should be a common knowledge that, bots. Don't make you profit. None at all. My goal was to obviously get visibility there.

Some bots may have a little high ROI but that's just a thing that differs from every point of view, because even though I used 122 SBD to give the post a boost, I did not profit at all, in fact as you said, I literally lost money. However the SP gain kinda balances it out. (Remember, the post is 50/50, calculations show that the post will get 90 SBD/45SP at the time I am writing this, so in fact. I may have profited in the long term. Who knows :))

Anyways, again. Thank you for the post, even I learnt a few things I didn't know.

You're welcome @deathwing. Actually it was just luck of the draw :D

  • I appreciate your post. This is a great PSA everyone needs to read.
    • I had not realized clicking on a username could link to a phishing site...
      • Ah yes, thanks for clarifying the payout. I hope you do make a profit!!!
  • I too learned from doing the study.
    • I only decided to post the results, because I hope I'm not the only one who questions things they read on the Internet... (in this case, that people are getting rich...)

Very, very few bots are profitable. I did a very similar study when creating this service. Many people are simply bad with numbers or don't understand how it really works. Most bot services are used simply to get onto the trending page, and often times the additional votes received due to being a trending post offsets the bot loss...other than that it is simply just paying to be "trending".

This is why I am so passionate about my service and designed it the way I did, to ensure that quality content is recognized and profitably rewarded.

As a friendly reminder, minimum upvote fee has increased $0.03 SBD ($0.031 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.09 SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

I'm working on a post that's going to give some Business Finance 101.

  • Your service will be highlighted! 😎

Thank you very much for that. I feel much more education of the platform and services s needed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56768.45
ETH 2391.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28