Whale dreamssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

whale_v2-2400pxd731e.md.png

A few days ago I started following @htooms, one of Steemit's newest whales. He decided to buy his way in, all at once. Now he holds contests where the winner can vote like a whale (using his SP in some way) for a limited amount of time.

I usually don't have five to eight hours to do nothing but curate, so I probably won't enter the contest any time soon. However, I love the idea. It's fun to think of what I might do as a whale...

Apparently my goal of one way or another acquiring 20,000 SP is the cutoff between minnow and dolphin. Interesting. I believe the cutoff between dolphin and whale is 200,000 SP.

First of all, while I absolutely would buy my way to whalehood given the resources, I think I would take my time at it. I know about being a minnow, and getting excited if the upvote value of my post cracks a dollar. I'd like to experience when cracking a dollar becomes normal and then when only making a dollar is a bad day. I want to enjoy the transition from minnow to dolphin, and kind of hang out there for a while.

Eventually, I'd like to reach whalehood, but I think it might be a bit intimidating to get there too quickly. Maybe I wouldn't know what to do with all this power.

But once I get it, here are a few things I would do...

  • I'd upvote my own posts, just like I do now.

  • I'd split up my rewards between SP and SD, the original default

  • I'd cash out my SD to invest in other promising coins

  • I'd try to find new Steemit users and welcome them with a valuable upvote

  • I'd have a special tag that people could use for posts that they want a whale to see.

  • I'd block or mute users who were abusing the special tag in any way.

  • I'd vote with my full slider (I find getting 1% of a whale vote to be anticlimactic, and 40 votes a day seems like quite a lot).

  • Some days I wouldn't vote at all.

  • Some days I might not post at all.

  • Maybe I'd hold contests but not to give my vote away.

  • Maybe I'd spotlight deserving followers... and share the proceeds with them.

  • I'd try to highlight people who were doing interesting or heroic things.

  • I'd be a pretty quiet whale.

  • Hopefully... I wouldn't be much different than I am now.

It's a long way to whalehood for me. But in the mean time, a minnow can dream, right?

Sort:  

all that separates you from being a whale is money. What you are talking about is the wise use of power, but you can write posts like this one and influence people --maybe even the occasional dolphin or whale :)

You as well as myself and a few others are the epitome of what a Whale should be and do.
The process you described is what the Whales should be doing. It strengthens the platform, gives smaller Steemians the help they need to make a difference and will help also help pull people from other social media sites to Steemit.
Most Whales are greedy and only help other Whales which completely defeats the purpose of this site.
Steemit is for the people as a whole not a means for those who already have money to make more for themselves and their inner circle.
Steemit is for the generous not the greedy.
Great post.
Regards. V

The way I see it, and it may sound cliché, is its all about the journey. For me, if and when it happens, that will be cool. In the meantime, I don't mind being small.
I like the attitude you have about acting the same regardless. I think that is key.

I like your thoughts. Enjoying our way to whalehood!! ;) ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks so much for the feedback, everyone who stopped by and commented. I'm quite encouraged by the response I got to this post :)

Those are good rules and I'm glad you've given thought to them. Using htooms as your model though, might be problematic. He's one of the ones that caused the upset in the first place. The new 'whale' is just the old one in a mask, sucking up for attention and trying to repair his rep. That's fraud in my book.

I'm glad you're taking the legit way and earning your rep honestly.

I actually know very little about the upset you refer to. I was on a Steemit hiatus and I think it had largely blown over by the time I got back. What I admire about htooms is very specific: he bought his way to whalehood. I don't know about all the other stuff so am not in a position to judge. I imagine that if you get big very quickly on a platform like this you will run into unexpected challenges. So I'm planning to take it much more slowly. Thanks for stopping by and commenting :)

Be glad you missed it. It was ugly. It's still bubbling under the surface, so if it boils over again, I won't be surprised.

That aside, good luck on the journey. It'll be interesting... ;-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65