wiser whale announcement, part IIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

purplewhale-crop-r1aa603.md.jpg

I believe a very important component of whalehood is helping out the little guy, or in this case, the little minnow. The way this works out practically is that the whale reads content from relatively new minnows and if the content is good, the whale upvotes it. This gives the minnow a boost in Steem power as well as encouragement to keep steeming.

But I'm a busy whale in training, and I have a lot going on in real life, which means I don't have the time to go out hunting for promising new content. I need the content to find its way to me.

To that end, all of you minnows who would like a wiser upvote, please tag your post with #wantwiserupvote

I will check that tag about once a day (with the understanding that there may be some days I don't get to it), and look over the content and see if it deserves an upvote. The criteria are admittedly arbitrary. I will vote for it if I like it.

I do have a few additional rules to keep it manageable.

  1. Only one post a day. Make it your best one.
  2. You have to actually be a small minnow and upvote your post. The value of your upvote needs to be less than one cent. This means when you upvote your post, it' still worth 0.00. This means that depending on the price of Steem, you have less than 2,000 SP. Once your vote is worth a cent, then you should be finding other small minnows to vote for :)
  3. Although I am not one to insist on fancy formatting or a lot of images, please respect basic paragraphing, spelling, and grammar rules.
  4. Nothing offensive, as in not safe for work. Although I do not go looking for these posts I do flag them if they find their way to me, and tend to unfollow, and sometimes block or mute, the author.

Every Steemit user gets 40 full strength up votes before voting strength starts seriously decreasing. At this point in my whale journey I am only voting with full strength, as in my slider stays at 100%. If you ever got a less than 100% vote from me it's only because I was trying out the slider. I'm done with that for now.

My plan is to reserve ten of these votes for myself. As I mentioned before, my midrange Steemit goal is to acquire enough Steem Power to make my vote worth 10c, which means I would vote for ten of my own posts or comments in order to guarantee I am earning a dollar a day.

My remaining 30 votes would be split fairly evenly between voting for content I see on #wantwiserupvote and voting for content I see in my feed and other random stuff. I'm not holding myself to that, but that's the general principle I'll be operating under.

If I like your content, I am likely to follow you, which means that you'll also get a shot at my upvote by showing up on my feed, where I might see your other posts that you couldn't tag with #wantwiserupvote

At this time my upvote isn't worth much. However, I have plans to keep buying more Steem Power, as well as earning it here, so it shouldn't be long before my up vote is worth at least a penny. When you're brand new to Steemit, even having a payout of a single penny can be encouraging.

I also want to invite anyone else, current whale or whale in training, to also check the #wantwiserupvote tag and vote on the content. If you plan to do this regularly, then please introduce yourself using the tag #votewithwiser

This post is set to power up 100%, as will all my posts be until I reach at least 20,000 SP, so all earnings from upvotes will go towards strengthening this initiative. Thank you all for reading.

Small minnows, I look forward to reading your posts :)

Sort:  

I wish I had saw this as I did three post that seemingly got caught up in the madness earlier. One got wiped out for over a buck lol. Sounds trivial, but it is the psychological blow of never having seen that happen lol.
So how much real money do you think you will need to put in to reach your goal or are you mainly going to try to earn it? I ask because I am trying to figure out the real money needed to be invested in order to make a dollar a day on 10 posts. I'm not sure the return is sufficient on the money side alone, however I grant you the fun of it is indeed worth much!
I am trying to make sense out of all of this lol. I enjoy your posts and am learning a lot by them!

I laid it out pretty thoroughly in this post. Of course, this is based on what I observed before the hard fork. It looks like it may take up to 30 days to get the reward pool and payouts normalized, so not sure if the numbers change permanently because of the hard fork or not. I'm going to stick to my plan because I'm sure I'll figure it out long before I manage to acquire that much SP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48