I like the seven day payout window, but...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I know a number of Steemit users are complaining about having to wait seven full days for content they've contributed to yield its just (or unjust) rewards. I, however, have a different perspective.

Of course it was kind of frustrating to be earning absolutely nothing for seven long days once the hard fork went into effect. On the other hand, it has been fun to build up the pipeline. If I miss a day on Steemit, then I won't have to suffer the pain of no rewards for another seven days. Hey, delayed punishment can be a blessing, just in a different way than delayed gratification.

With my new wantwiserupvote initiative, it has been super helpful to still be able to vote on a post four days after it has been published. I voted on a few four day old posts today, as a matter of fact. I had to scroll down deep into the introduceyourself tag because there weren't quite enough brand new introductions for me to complete my small minnow voting quota. In the pre-hard fork days, if I missed voting on a post during that initial 24 hour window, then my vote wouldn't pay the author until thirty days later...

...which brings me to the but: What happened to the second payout? Did we really have to do away with the second payout in order to extend the first payout by 7 days? I mean, what happens if I come across an amazing article eight days after it's been published? I can't upvote it. I can't even comment on it. What's up with that? I understand that Steemit wants to encourage fresh content, but does it really have to come at the expense of previous content still earning?

I have my initiative described in what I would consider to be an informative, pithy, and pleasant to read article. It's the article I link to now when telling others about my initiative. But in seven days those new people who learn about it won't be able to vote on it. Not that the rewards are the point or anything, but I always think of that hypothetical situation where a current whale might fall so in love with my initiative around day 10 or so, and want to support it with a big fat upvote... but can't because the article is dead.

There is a workaround, I guess. That is to simply repost the article as a new one every seven days. As long as I'm going to repost it I might want to look it over and see if I should change anything about it. I might rewrite the whole thing and make it better, or maybe more tailored to a different audience. I might occasionally just copy/paste, but that would get boring to do that every time.

I read some whale wisdom earlier this week about how when you have a good idea, you keep repeating it until more people catch on. I see now how Steemit is engineered to support this repetition.

But then again, continuing to write about the wantwiserupvote initiative in different ways on a regular basis is starting to sound suspiciously like marketing, and... and... I really don't do marketing.

Hmmm.... So Steemit has conspired to turn me into a marketer. I'm on to you, Steemit!

The question is, am I going to fall for it?

I guess we'll all find out :)

Sort:  

I guess I'm a bit mixed with this I'm totally fine with the 7 day payout and I'm somewhat okay with the locking of posts after that too. I have come from other places where content is basically removed if its not talked about for a certain amount of time so I guess the idea of posts being decommissioned is okay with me since that's a lot better than it being deleted outright haha.

Decomissioned is definitely preferable to deleted. I could still link to an old article indefinitely, at least. Someone who really wanted to reward it could with a few clicks find a live post and upvote that instead.

Well, you raise a good point... although I also want to add that it was relatively rare that anyone got more than a few pennies from the old 30-day payout system... 99% of the rewards came in the initial 24 hours.

You definitely have a point there. That has generally been my observation as well. A personal notable exception is that @digicrypt upvoted one of my posts while being a whale for one night as part of one of @htooms' initiatives. That post had already payed out, and then got upvoted to the tune of $1.49. I think I'm still waiting to collect it. But yes, that is definitely an exception :)

@htooms @hilarski @digicrypt I thought you'd appreciate this :)

You know reposting is a good option. I liked the first things I posted when I had no followers. What would be wrong with a repost with a bit of a rewriting. Not in a spammy way, but just now and again.

I totally agree. I will be reposting about my wantwiserupvote initiative periodically. I know it won't be as often as weekly (too busy for that), but probably a bit more than monthly. I think in the not too distant future I might apply for a shot at being whale for a night ( @htooms' initiative), especially once I have a solid curating track record. I'm thinking doing that would bring added visibility to my project. Thanks a lot for your support.

You have a very good point here. That being said I believe that learning a few marketing skills is good for every writer.

I absolutely agree... although I'm kind of in denial about the whole marketing thing. I'd like to just write something brilliant... and have the entire world take notice ;)

I don't mind the 7 day waiting period at all now that the initial 7 days is up I'm getting rewards everyday, and you can always write another article that is similar or correlated to one you wrote a few days before and link it in your new post.
Constantly reposting every 7 days though I could find some people might get a bit sick of that and almost see it as your just trying to make extra on a "used product" chancing your arm if you will!

You definitely raise a good point. I doubt that I would religiously repost every seven days, even if that was my intention. My life would just get in the way too much. I'm thinking I'd probably do it every other week or so at the most, and it would most of the time be a rewrite, not a copy/paste. There are many ways to talk about something, and the point would be to keep it in people's minds, which means one way or another it's got to get moved to the top of people's feed periodically. I mean, if and it's a big if, I was actually going to market my initiative or anything crazy like that ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51