What does it take to consistently get good payouts? The 3 C's of Steemit.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is something I'm sure many new people are currently asking: "How in the world are some people consistently getting good payouts on virtually every post they make?"

In a previous post I mentioned how it's important to forget about the money. Well, having said that, it's hard not to at least use that potential payout amount as a kind of gauge (alongside the "views" count) to measure the attention you're getting, and how much interest people have in your content, but I still believe this an important question to ask, because it means you're curious about what makes this place tick. It will surely result in some people claiming that people are playing favorites and picking the same authors every time, but if you look at the situation a little closer you might find out what's really going on.

For example, if you look at the profiles of such members as, say, @papa-pepper, @thecryptofiend, or perhaps @ats-david, you'll find that they have several currently active threads that have pending payouts in the 3 or sometimes 4-digit figures, and, depending on how many active threads they may have at any given time, they could have a total pending payout for the week in the tens of thousands of dollars.

Well, let's take a look at one of their profiles: @papa-pepper is a great example.
For the purpose of this post, I've removed all of his resteemed posts to show only his own.

Do you see it? It should be pretty obvious, actually. This list of posts go back only 7 days and there are 26 posts. That's an average of nearly 4 posts per day. Now, this isn't to say you need to post 4 times per day. There's technically no current limit to the number of posts you can make per day (although there used to be a limit of 4, incidentally), so you can post as much as you want. However, writing 4 posts per day may not be feasible for everyone. Even 1 per day would be good, so long as you continue posting. The point is not to go stagnant for too long. Stay visible.

So with that, let's go back to the question:
"What does it take to consistently get good payouts?"

I believe the question itself contains the answer, and this is our first "C":

There's a mindset that I've noticed many new users tend to have, and it usually happens after the first or second post. If that first or second post doesn't get much of a payout - perhaps only a few pennies - a wave of disappointment can wash over and the feeling of "a rigged system" might crop up.



I remember when @papa-pepper was just getting started, and I can tell you - he didn't start out making payouts like that. He worked his ass off to get there. And it's not just posting constantly. He also made himself visible. He became part of the community by doing things like involving himself in more than just his own posts; he also makes sure to involve himself in others' posts as well by commenting.

Which brings us to our second "C":



I'm sure we're all familiar with @darthnava's MRI post by now, and you may have noticed that the very first comment of the post is @papa-pepper going that extra mile by donating a sizable amount of Steem to @darthnava's cause. Now, given @papa-pepper's nature, I fully believe he did that because that's who he is - that's his heart. But the resulting effect is that people remember him because of it, and because of lot of previous stuff like it that he's done.

And this brings us to the final "C":

To some, "charity" can be a bad word, but I'd like to build a case for it, because Steemit is exactly the kind of place where charity shines, and based on my observations it can have a tremendous effect for everyone involved, not just the receiver of a charity, but also the giver.



So there it is.

Consistency - Community Involvement - Charity

This seems to me to be an equation that works for most - if not all - of the people I see using it, whether intentionally or not. I hope it works for you as well. I plan on implementing it myself for 100% of my remaining tenure on Steemit.



Sort:  

Great post. I will definitely use that from now on in my posting behavior. Thanks for the advice.

As new joinee my quition is same how to get more. Your post really helps me as a new joinee and showing path to earn. So thanks for your share.

It's my pleasure. Glad to have you aboard and good luck to you!

Thanks for sharing good info. Newness like me always looking for this kind helpful and motivational posts. Please keep share us more info like this.

3Cs exactly!

edit: all those three have another C - CHARM
there's something about them that's hard to - not to notice
specially @thecryptofiend
and @sweetsssj

I really love the tone of your article, it feels patient and has loads of words of wisdom. Thanks a bunch for underlining this information for us all. I especially noticed the dedication in taking out the "re-steemed" articles out of his list, this underlines his work really well. Thanks a bunch.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Thanks for the kind words, @eric-boucher, I'm glad you enjoyed the article. :)

A few cents used to be a decent payout on this place, since they changed things up (not really sure what happened btw, I just came back recently and now my vote is actually worth something) I remember the days when you could get 50 up votes and not see more than a $0.02 payout! Anyhow, this is a really great breakdown and its good to see these kinds of articles popping up to keep the rookies encouraged, great work as usual :)

Great!! Gonna follow your this 3C suggestions :-)
Thanks for the tip @winstonwolfe. Following you now.

I think there's also another letter to add. P. Personality.
Some people just have that interest in things that helps them write.
I think it helps if you're passionate about what you are writing.

i have recently joined steemit and i was wondering how people are making such huge money. Thanks for the post it really motivates.

This is great! I can definitely relate. I hit that newbie "money bug" after my first month into Steemit; I got frustrated! Why wasn't I making any money? Then, I began to really focus on the importance of creating a community and developing an identity on Steemit for good original content.

In fact, I'd argue that content is the fourth "C". I've seen quite a bit of "Shit-posting" lately, and I know because that was me not too long ago. To really thrive on Steemit, it takes good original content. Cheers mate!

An upvote and a resteem are in order for this post. Thanks! I'm learning. Just signed up less than a week ago and this is very helpful. And, I do think consistent posting is doable and the being social is easy because I find all the stories interesting. I'm reading poems and listening to songs and seeing and commenting on some interesting blog posts about all types of things like comedy, art, politics, technology and cryptocurrency. I'm glad I'm here.

Winston, you forget the fourth C : Craft Beer

DAMMIT. I knew I was forgetting something.

It brings it all together at the end of the day!

That C I got down. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84