You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Addressing Steemit's Social Confusion

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

This is why, in a post I made about 45 minutes ago, I propose that instead of bombarding people with information about what Steemit is, we simply ask people to find out for themselves. This is a platform that people are trying to compare to other social media sites, but it has its own definition, I think. And I think it still needs to be figured out by the public at large. In other words, instead of comparing to Facebook, Reddit, etc....maybe we can simply advertise the website itself: "Steemit.com".
Nothing else, just that.

I'm reminded of the advertising campaign of the 90's about Rogaine. I know, weird product to think of right off the bat, but I recall not getting an explanation as to what it was. It was just a commercial showing men being men and it simply saying "Rogaine". People got curious about what it could possibly be because there was no explanation. It garnered TONS of interest before anyone really got any idea what it was. People were so curious they had to investigate it for themselves and come up with their own questions.

Why can't we do that?

Sort:  

It is fun to figure out what it is. It's like finding an easter egg.

Maybe tag line is people are getting paid on steem, figure out how it works!

Haha, I prefer the first thing you said as a strapline

It is fun to figure out what it is. It's like finding an easter egg.

:-D

Cg

VERY, very, good point; it made me realise another thing that's been bugging me; people are dog sick TIRED of social media. "Oh no not another one" is an unwanted reaction we'd like to avoid.

I like the simplicity of just Steemit.com; nice :-)

Cg

Yes....we are and some of us never joined it. Heres hoping Steemit is something different.

I also agree, it's quite unique enough to stand on it's own, without necessarily defining it up front. Doing so pigeon-holes it actually, and into something it's either really not, or won't be 30 days from now. Even tho I had some idea (as detailed in my other reply I came for blogging), I still had to spend quite a bit of time here to wrap my head around what exactly Steemit is. And it's already different from what is was once I thought I'd figured it out! It's so many things in one, and the launchpad to many other apps thanks to all the developers here. The state of constant evolution and testing seems to make it harder and more pointless to define summarily in fact.
"Steemit - the new way to Internet..." or maybe "Steemit - come evolve with us"

Exactly, it is a fluid thing; and being compared to established social media may lead to disappointment, it's best to just, suck it and see, rather than come with expectations.

Thanks for your comment.

Cg

I agree completely, and thank you. It just gets the "do we really need another social media site...?" reaction some times I think.

Gotta be careful with the word evolve/evolution, some people are allergic to it.

Haha, good point!

I like that Steemit is about experimenting, testing, and adapting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44