Having Trouble Flying

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Image Source

I don't dream that much these days, but I can definitely remember some from when I was much younger. I can recount several dreams I've had where I found that I had the power to fly.

Drone footage by @giftedgaia.

Have you ever dreamed you can fly, then somewhere along in the dream you lose the power to do it so you fight like hell to get it back just before waking up? I remember doing anything I could to get it going again, like kicking my legs and flailing my arms as if swimming in a pool. A time or two, for just a second, it would work and "swimming" would take me about 5 or 6 feet in the air....but I knew it was puttering out, I knew it wouldn't last. This is usually the thought that made me realize I was dreaming and I'd wake up.

Well, when HF19 was implemented 2 weeks ago, motivation to post struck me hard and held on tight, like this sloth on this cat...

Image source

...and then - in true W.W. fashion - almost just as quickly as it arrived, after about 2 weeks it seems to have begun sputtering out. Now I'm kicking my legs and flailing my arms to try to keep flying.

I'm having trouble coming up with ideas to post now, for some reason. The vlogs are pretty easy, but those take so much time out of my day just to put together, when I could be posting other stuff and keeping up my pace. I've been wanting to get the good camera gear out and take some high-quality, artfully-minded and wall-worthy photos to post, but I haven't been able to carve out the time to go anywhere with it beyond my own back yard. And when I look through my archives to find things to share, most of what I find are photos that are kid-related. Not that that's bad, but I highly doubt you guys want to see photos of my kid playing in the backyard (there's that backyard problem again)....in fact, I'm pretty sure you already have.

This thing gets creepy when the batteries get low.

The last time I made a post like this, wondering whether or not I was out of ideas, was just the thing to suddenly flood myself with them. EVERYTHING was a Steemit post! So, I'm kind of hoping it works again this time.

Keep following me and let's see what kind of dumpster fire I come up with. LOL ;-)

In the meantime, I think I'll spend more time reading and commenting.

Source of first image.



Sort:  

Haha, nicely tied together my man! I was just preparing to tell you my theory on flying dreams and then I got to the point of the post! :-)

I think it's always best to just step away for a few days or so when you can't think of anything. Just the time away will help you out coming up with ideas. Also there are certain people on here who can make you think you're not posting that much because of how much they churn out, so try and ignore them for awhile!

Personally, I'm trying to come up with themes that I can get a few articles out of. I find that much more noteworthy; so if I suddenly think, hey! I 'll make a post about that cheese sandwich I ate for lunch yesterday. I sit and think about if I can get 2 or 3 articles out of it.

If I can, great, if not, I may park it and keep thinking, eventually I'll come back to the cheese sandwich, but I'm always thinking 2s and 3s now.

By the way; my theory is, flying dreams come from when you're a baby, and adults pick you up and fly around with you. That's why you're never in complete control of where you're going, and that's also why we seldom have them as adults :-(

What do you reckon?

Cg

I suppose that's possible, as I would imagine sensations of dreams are at least partially rooted in some sort of real-world experience, and that would certainly qualify. To be honest, I'm probably the worst person to analyze dreams, as I have them so seldom - at least, vividly enough for me to grip onto some semblance of a memory of them. I joke around with my friends when this topic comes up that they seem to be able to dream up an entire novel overnight, yet it takes me a year to come up with so much as a sentence.

My dreams have gotten a hell of a lot more vivid, since I gave up smoking hashish! :-D

Cg

So I just realized what you said here:

I gave up smoking hashish!

Why the hell would you do that??? lol

Lolz, I'm about to give up again :-) I just find it gets to a point where it is clearly getting in the way of my progress and that really annoys me.

Cg

I wish I had more dreams I was flying. I always have a dream where I'm falling out of a tree house xD.

Anyway, cool post! Looking forward to more :)

It's fun, and I certainly won't stop doing them, but I need to watch it because they can get a bit lengthy and complex, which takes up LOTS of time. Episode 015 took up almost my entire day yesterday.

LOL! I have dreams like that as well. Hahaha! And i really hate it when i wake up! After waking up, i try to get back to my "sleeping comfy position" to get back to sleep fast. But as much as i want to go back to sleep, i cant go back. So i just think of when i could dream the same dream again and enjoy it more. I even have this dream where i can read peoples minds. :) its nice, last dream i had with powers was the mind reading thing. Just forgot the details though, but still, its nice. Just sharing. Haha!

When I try to do that, I would go back to some weird morphing of my original dream.
I'd be dreaming of swimming in a pool with Christie Brinkley, wake up, try to back to sleep, end up in another dream where I'm shooting pool with David Brinkley.

i wanna to fly like a ironman...;)

I used to have those dreams. I also figured out within the dream (most of the time) to teach myself to fly again. What a great feeling. Love this post. Keep on Keepin on :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40