A Few Tips On How To Really Love This Place

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'd like to take a few minutes and go over some things that I've really begun to stick to, and which some of you might consider trying if you want this place to work in your benefit.

1. First and foremost - FORGET ABOUT THE MONEY.

This part might be hard. Let's face it - that was the premise that led us all here.
If you're looking for a job, you should probably just go get a job. Steemit might not be everyone's best bet as a substitute for a good ol' fashioned, steady paying jobby-job. For some it might, but for the majority of us, don't quit that 9-5 just yet. BUT...don't let that be a reason to dislike Steemit, because there's a different mindset that seems to work better for it.

Here's the way I look at it:

It's Christmas.
We have the option to enjoy the experience of the whole day, have fun with friends and family, make great new memories with them, share great stories, look at funny pictures....OR...we can be whiny babies who decide we don't care about any of that stuff and just "Gimme my presents! Right now! I wanna open presents!"
Please don't be that bratty kid. I know it's tempting, but it's going to spoil Christmas for everybody.
I promise you don't want that.

I know some of you have said that you seem to get paid more when you complain about stuff, but that seems to be a rare phenomenon as far as I can tell.

2. DON'T WORRY ABOUT WHAT THE WHALES ARE DOING.

This is it folks. This is what we have. The platform is here, and I think we should embrace it and do what we can with it by creating a positively thriving community that is able to successfully run the system the way it was designed to be run.

The whales are going to do what they do.
Just like you are going to do what you do.

Just because you're both in the same room doesn't necessarily mean they're obliged to interact with you. They created this place, and suddenly 40,000 people showed up. Don't expect them to go around shaking hands and sticking wads of money in everyone's pockets. That's not how this place works. If they see something you posted and believe that it's worth that upvote, trust me they'll give it to you. Or they'll give it to someone else. Whether or not you agree with what they upvoted is irrelevant. Just like it's irrelevant whether or not you agree with what any other person on this site upvotes. It might be worth checking out what many of them seem to like to upvote and consider catering to those interests. Don't expect them to automatically like something you posted which you think is hands-down the most awesome awesome thing ever. That's all subjective. You will never please 100% of everyone, even if you try giving away free money (which has been proven).

3. SPEND TIME CONTRIBUTING TO THE COMMUNITY.

Image Source

This doesn't just mean posting content, but also mingling. That's what community does, they get to know each other. Get involved and start conversations and ask questions to learn things about each other so we can all grow together. There's more than enough topics here to find out your commonalities. Make friends, FFS.

For some of us - such as myself - this may involve switching gears from old social networks to this one. I used to spend hours a day on Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, and G+, and I can do the same thing here!

Think about that for a second.

If you already spend a lot of time on social networks as it is without compensation, then you're already doing the thing which is the FUEL that runs Steemit. Don't let the idea of money corrupt that existing thought process or you're just going to leave quickly with not much to show for it besides disappointment.

Don't forget to be genuine when you post, too. That's important. Don't just pop in and say,
"Awesome post! I agree! Very informative! Keep up the great work!"
It's robotic and very impersonal.

4. STOP SPENDING TIME IN THE TRENDING PAGES.

Image Source

If that's where you're spending your Steem time, it's no wonder you're getting disappointed. You're drooling over the biggest success stories of Steemit. Those are the posts that get that bump up to Steemit virality, and if you see it in Trending, you might have missed out on any good curation rewards because the piranhas have already skeletonized the cow. Probably best just to move on.

I tend to spend most of my time in the "Home" page (which are all people I've decided to follow), and I like to browse the "New" page as well. The New page is kind of the raw source for all posts, chronologically. Think of it as the proverbial Steemit ticker. It keeps you on the forefront of what's going on.
Sometime's I'll go to "Hot", but on the majority I don't go there, and I also don't go to "Promoted".



I wrote this blog post 2 weeks after I joined Steemit last July. Going back, I found that a lot of it is still relevant and felt that it needed to be reposted for the current wave of new users...with a few minor edits for present-day relevancy.



Sort:  

Nice writing! I am just new to here and feel good to see your advice. But I would wonder how can I meet friend here? As we cannot send any private message to people here. All the conversation is public, it is not a good plan to meet new friend.

It is great post and advice for me to think about how to contribute in Steemit. I think the first point is important, it is not the matter of money. Spending time on Steemit could gain knowledge and meet new friends. These benefits are far more than rewards. Contributing in Steemit could learn more and explore more.

Nicely said @winstonwolfe It's about community spirit and inspiring good in others. I was delighted to see some great crowdfundings and amazingly fast responded charities since I joined Steemit 20 days ago. I also met a lot of interesting people who share the same ideals as I do, and many good bloggers. This community is a treasure to guard for years to come. Hope I see all of you and me there. Cheers!

Thanks for the kind words. :)
A perfect example of someone who embodies what I'm talking about is @papa-pepper. The stuff he posts is awesome, and you can tell by looking at it that he's a genuine human being doing this because he loves it.

Totally agree.
Here Steemit is a community of people from all over the world, experting in different kind of knowledge. Beyond from the money earning, we should take the chane to explore the others world and learn much from everyone here. That's the reason why we gather here.

Agree on the trending pages, but damn, Steemit really - really - really needs some Reddit.

Nice / useful tips; thank you! ☺

Very true and very good tips. The part about contributing back to Steemit is so true.

WOW, love this post @winstonwolfe ... It's a good way to look at STEEMIT!

I enjoyed your Christmas analogy :)

I'm enjoying it very much here and agree 100% with you on most points, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52