You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flagging: I'm back on the job! And a new criteria for flagging!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

@neoxian being the judge, jury and executioner won't end well.
Flagging a commenter's comment as spam I can get behind that when it's actually spam.

But going to the source and flagging it just because you think your job is to be the police around here is disruptive and is a major reason why the price of steem is going down.

To the outside world, what you're saying makes you sound like a complete passive aggressive dickhead who has issues of control and authority and let's face it, who want's to be around that sort of person? Not trying to be harsh, I know you aren't this way. I've read your stuff and followed you for awhile. But to the outside world this is how you look. Why do you want to look that way and since you are a major player here, why do you want to make steem look that way?

I am stating the facts as I see them. When I try to bring over a substantial portion of my own social network to this platform from reddit, facebook etc. They see your posts and posts like yours and say things like "You know what? This guy isn't someone I want to get to know."

Look, the fact is we presently don't have a functional curation system.

The only way content is discovered is when people like you, who have the power, happen to stumble upon it and give it some weight. So don't be shocked if you nouveau rich dolphins and whales suddenly have a bunch of people trying to get your attention.

You guys specifically asked for that when you decided that voting power is tied to the wealth of a person's wallet instead of the wealth of their mind.

What you see as spam, the rest of the world sees as someone simply trying to get your attention. Why not go there and give them some attention? The rules even say "try to befriend dolphins and whales".

Your name is on a list, if you don't want to be on that list it's up to you to remove your name from that list and the only way to do that would be to powerdown, or to spread the wealth by finding stuff that noone else is upvoting and voting it up. Maybe engage them in conversation, who knows you might like it!

In the meantime, you need to realize this tit for tat linkspam and upvote system comprise the very best tools that steem has to offer us right now, because even "following" doesn't work.

But I promise you, if you and others like you decide to make this place unbearable, especially for people who are trying to build a social network by being social with one another, they will leave and all the steem power in the world will be completely worthless.

You'll be the king you imagine yourself to be, but your kingdom will be in ashes.

If it's your blog they come into, then go on their blog and ask them to stop doing it and to please remove their comment. This is social media after all, we're not here to be anti-social jackasses.

Sort:  

So I just kick back and relax and let spammers run rampant. You know, every time I try to browse my favorite topics like #bitcoin or #linux or whatever, I can't because 75% of what I see has nothing to do with the tag I'm interested in. It's so hard to find news on topics you like. I have 60000$ invested in this platform so I'm pretty motivated to defend it. Right now, I don't know why anyone would come here to read something. Everyone is posting like mad in a desperate attempt to get a few pennies or dollars. Most minnow have no real stake in the platform so they have every motivation to game it and milk it for what they can get.

@neoxian

Right so petition the devs to change the rules of the platform so that this is a non-issue. But going about it the way you are is going to turn this place into dig. Good luck with that, that's all I'm sayin.

Here's something that actually could use your attention.
There's currently a bot swarm attacking several members for following your advice.
You should use your powers to attack that. Make the world a better place.

Spammers must be punished, otherwise they will continue to spam. I can't understand how somebody will see that as a bad thing. If your social networks consists of people who are okay with massive spamming, maybe it's best if they don't come here.

Currently I'm not spending much time on Steemit because here is too much shitposts. I have better things to do than try to find something worth of reading in here.

Yea, could you remove this post. Pimping your blog here is pretty rude.

So is flagging someone trying to talk to you. I removed the link. I wasn't pimping I was asking someone who is building a bot to attack you to put her efforts into something more productive.
But yeah it's your house I won't go messing it for you.
Have a nice day!

Fine, fine, I unflagged your comment.

I'm not going to flag you for saying something I don't like. I'm not that much of a dick.

Something for you to take a look at...
https://steemit.com/steemit/@desmonid/s-o-s-i-m-being-targeted-by-a-malicious-downvote-bot
Just sayin this is actually what you're advocating. You should really go explain your views to him.

I'm sorry, when and where did I say I advocated bot swarms flagging or up voting people?

Ok unflagging you too. Not sure where your post was that said that, but I'm too tired to find it.
Anyways, have a good night and I really mean it when I say peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54