You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem with One-Sided Conversations

in #steemit8 years ago

@jedau Yes #payitforward does work and it works really well. But it seems to benefit more in the long term. Right now people spend the 24hrs their post is able to earn upfront, camping in steemit.chat and trying to promote their article. They don't seem to be exploring payitforward content until that period has expired. The net effect is that we are gaining momentum but it's mostly on the long term payout of the post.

Posts that are over 24hrs tend to be universally ignored. But #payitforward content sees a few extra comments and votes more than without that hashtag.

As we gain more players it will of course have more impact on your immediate earnings. But just consider it a longterm investment in your posting that only needs 13 extra keystrokes in order to enable.

One other thing. Make sure you're also looking for other #payitforward enabled content and doing the crosslink back to your content. That's a vital but powerful step most people seem to be missing. But it's the defining point of the game and what makes #payitforward more powerful in the long run than other initiatives that attempt to curate with a single call to action.

It's this tit for tat system of upvote, comment, crosslink and follow that provides #payitforward with it's long term potential. Make sure you do all of those to maximize the potential. :D

Sort:  

I'm curious, what is the word limit for a blog on steemit? My chapters average about 2000 words, since I had to split them up to post online in another venue.

@casandrarose The limit is not words, but KB of text. Each character or letter, including each character in image URLs and each formatting character and white space etc, counts as a single byte and I think the total limit is 4096 bytes. Although Mud Blood & Glory which you edited is pretty much the maximum length of a posting.

@williambanks yeah, that was my thought as well. You can really see the benefit when your old posts that were ignored get renewed interest. It's fun trying to connect the things you wrote with what other people wrote! :)

It's been a busy couple of days, but I have commented on other #payitforward articles as well. I try to at least comment on one per day. It's strange, but I really get more interaction whenever I comment on other people's posts (which I do for the majority of my time on Steemit) as opposed to posting my own content. Before, I don't really see a huge effect, with only a few people whose post I commented on take the time to read my posts, but hopefully that number would increase exponentially with #payitforward . I've been using comments as a way of motivating people and urging people to have a look at my own posts as well, without outrightly forcing them to do so.

I don't see any real benefit with just getting votes on my own without giving back, and I don't really get the motivation of people that do that sort of thing. Most of the time, I'm the one that initiates interaction through my comment, and hope that it cascades from there. That's why the #payitforward model feel like it's built exactly like my approach :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50