You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Bad Experience with Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

@heiditravels @stellabelle @fyrstikken @dollarvigilante

You didn't have a bad experience with steemit.
You had a bad experience with a person or persons.
This person was who they were long before steemit, just as you are who you are long before steemit.

Steemit didn't make this person who they are, just like it didn't make you who you are. You've all said steemit didn't make you. But we have made you wealthier.

For some reason, the platform strongly rewards attention whoring right now. Probably for the same reason people can't stop looking at a car wreck.
So you get what you earn, not what you deserve.
It's intentionally not fair as per everything @dantheman has said repeatedly.

We like you, but the platform owes you nothing.
If you disagree with this, I have attached the standard form to fill out in the future.

Thanks for listening!
Signed,
Everyone who is tired of seeing this circus continue.

Sort:  

Steemit might not have caused it. If I go to a bar, and someone pees on my shoe, the owner of the bar didn't cause it. But if it happens often enough, it makes me wonder if the owner of bar should be doing something attract a more continent clientele.

@sigmajin
You're missing my point. The point is we ARE the owners. If you're tired of seeing the circus, quit upvoting it. If you want to encourage better clientele, use your power to upvote quality content and do whatever you can to promote the tens of thousands of underrated minnows on this platform who will never ever see the light of day because they're being drowned out by the very few who regularly make the front page. A very few who are now using that platform to bash one another like children instead of acting like adults and using the mute button.

@heiditravels Prior to this post I had assumed that getting involved or even acknowledging it was beneath you. In my heart I was applauding you for taking the high road and just ignoring it. Was kind of shocked to see you even bother to respond. You do put out great content normally. I would like to know more about your mountain climbing.

She was accused of being "guilty" simply for remaining quiet on the matter. She's up against a master troll that capitalizes on others inability to be online 24/7, or have the desire to, to counter his propaganda campaigns against them.

He also has an army of sockpuppets and cronies backing him. It's a tough battle to even consider taking up and I commend her for having the courage to face her false accuser, who will likely continue targeting her for simply standing up to protect her reputation.

Some of us reached our breaking point and decided to stand up to this online tyrant. I hope more of this Community will use their voting power, as you state, to shun these types of individuals until something can be done in the code to help an individual block abusers.

Thanks for that.

Just to be clear here. The only part directed at heidi in my commentary were the parts where I directly used her name. Meaning I don't think she had a bad experience with steemit, just a handful of users. Same with the others making posts saying "steemit = bad, unsafe etc".

I'm horrified by the actions of those users, but the problem isn't steemit.
It's the people upvoting that sort of BS. When you upvote that, you are encouraging both sides to continue.

The rest of my commentary towards her was intended to say "heidi, honestly, none of us in our right minds thought your silence was evidence of guilt.". In fact speaking for myself, I had just assumed she had put him on mute. I was really proud of that. Hence I was shocked to find out, no it was just that she was AFK for a bit.

The rest of my commentary is directed to everyone who upvoted ANY of that mess.

Please consider what message you are sending to everyone, especially new users when you upvote anyone slinging mud at anyone else. Whether you think it's warranted or otherwise.

Is this really what you want the platform to turn into?

So here's the deal. If someone is slinging mud at someone else, hit the downvote button, then the mute button. First time, every time. You bop them on the nose like that enough then they will go sit in the corner and think about it. You're harming their bottom line.

Otherwise, literally everyone is making money from perpetuating a negative cycle and that is money being taken directly from people trying to do right and bring real lasting value.

Think about it.

@tuck-fheman I do applaud you for standing up and taking a stand in general. I'm not trying to diminish that or take away from it. Sometimes there is no right answer. You did what you felt was right. I know you to be a good person with a strong backbone and an excellent sense of right and wrong. I can admire and respect that.

But let's please make this the last time we financially support tit for tat. For the good of the platform. Just downvote it, mute it and walk away. If they have a large number of accounts and supporters legit or otherwise, then that's a sign we need to fix the platform so it rewards the behavior we want to see. To my mind that means reserving our upvotes solely for content that promotes what we really want to see more of.

Upvote the future, not the past.

I can't blame her for that ... she's under attack, so she has to come out and defend herself ... it's kind of like a rule ...

@luminousvisions
Who's blaming her? I'm simply stating that I had assumed her silence meant she was above it.

As for blame, that rests at the feet of the people arguing on the internet and the people upvoting them instead of chill content like that dolphins thing you are doing.

relax, that's just an expression

I mostly agree with you, but I think that she did a good thing ... fyrstikken's post is trending and that's damaging for her ... she has to defend herself ...

I completely understand your point @williambanks, I wasn't sure about writing this post, but I'm glad that I did, something about letting him get away without voicing the truth just didn't sit well with me. I certainly don't enjoy these types of conflicts and bringing more light to it is now causing that good ol' Barbra Streisand effect. I will be back to posting about adventures tomorrow.

Thanks @heiditravels !
We've continued the discussion over into tuck's latest blog.
https://steemit.com/censorship/@tuck-fheman/just-downvote-it-mute-it-and-walk-away-is-that-a-reasonable-solution
It's at a more academic and less personal level.
I hope you'll join us!

Loading...

@williambanks - well pointed out!
love the butthurt report :D

this seem to keep escalating -
can't believe all the upvotes this "butthurt" is getting
and not just this one specifically ~ but also what started it ...
the whole thread of this rebuttals!

seniors ( referring to those who have long been here) should be models
we follow you because you inspire
but if you all go on like this -

more trash are floating in this abyss
minnows and some other fishes are having a hard time breathing -

Well it seems I wasn't following you before. But that was incredibly well put. So I'm following you now!

The SteemIt community supported and financially rewarded his behaviour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64258.95
ETH 3170.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55