Havin! The game that allows you to spend steem dollars in the real world. Update!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Spend steem dollars in real stores and earn steem by playing!
3 weeks ago we announced the development of Havin!

Today I had the sudden realization that outside our little team, no one really knows anything about where we've taken this, or just how far we've progressed.

So here's where we stand. The initial plan was to use the "Ionic 2" framework for building this game. But that didn't work out as well as we had hoped. Ionic 2 is just under too much flux to be useful for building anything more complex than a toy. So after 3 weeks of fighting a losing battle with the fickle whims of the ionic 2 team, we switched over to ionic 1 and now we're moving like greased lightning!

I'll share more screenshots in my next update but we are most definitely on track for Halloween release.

But we need your help right now...

As we near the first release of Havin, we've realized that a game can get kind of boring without great music and fun sound effects. In fact, music and sound effects are important but subtle queues that "Hey this game is fun!", it keeps players interested in playing and so we went off in search of the perfect music for our game.

My all time favorite game music was in Super Mario 2!


It just makes me smile and there isn't a lot that really does that. I'm generally speaking a very grumpy person. So I was super excited when @badassbarbie found a composer who was willing to make some game music for us and when I told him Super Mario 2 style music would fit the bill nicely, he whipped out not one but two themes!

Now we've got a conundrum. Which to choose for our main theme?
https://soundcloud.com/user-971372954/intro1
https://soundcloud.com/user-971372954/intro2

So go ahead and cast your vote. Intro 1 or Intro 2 which do you prefer?

From here on out we'll be posting updates at least 2x weekly, on Mondays and Fridays.
If you'd like to join the alpha test team and help vet the ui, go to google play and install "ionic creator" and we'll post the creator code in our next update. Next week's update will feature #blocktrades integration because the app does have a spendable purse and we want you to be able to spend at locations that already accept bitcoin.

Everyone who contributes at this stage will get a special, limited edition item for their character, that will only be available to alpha testers!

Sort:  

Thanks for the update! I vote intro #1

On a side note, how do we earn Steem from playing?

You're very welcome for the update. We're going to keep them coming from here on out. 2x weekly between now and launch, unless people object. At each update we will be issuing unique in game items and skills to all players who test. So hopefully we'll get a ton of players!

Your shopping list and other play each month are maintained on the blockchain as a single continually updating blog posting and relevant comments. The game play dynamics use upvoting between merchants and other players as a reward for play.

Upvotes translate into $$$ on steemit ;)

Intro 1 !!!

When I first listened both I couldn’t easily figure out they are not the same melody... but after a while, intro 1 got me addicted compared with intro2

Thank you @liondani they do have striking similarities. It's more to do with different instruments and accents / distorts, essentially the same song. Just need to know which sounds better!

I have unfortunately no time to play. But Good luck with this project!

Well it is at it's heart a shopping list management application. Add items you want to buy and use it when shopping. We just wanted to make it fun!

I see. As I was saying, this is not for me :D

By the way: #2 :)

I prefer no. 1 but they are both great:)

Thanks! I like them both too. Just hoping the community can help with this coin toss.

Not sure why, but I prefer #2. Has a more modern 8bit 'feel' to it (as ironic as that is.)

I think you just managed to out hipster the hipsters with your irony amiga :D

So awesome! I'm in bed, so I'll listen tomorrow.

Listening to both side by side like this...I am liking #2

@badassbarbie Can you do me a favor and ask Derek to stop by and read the feedback on his music so he gets a feel for what the community does and does not like?
Thanks!

@williambanks from Derek: Some of the people are correct. They are both the same song. The second one is just a higher bit rate. So it sounds cleaner. Other than that they are the same.

That's why I voted for #2 ( ; you understand me now @williambanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85