The cost of not upvoting

in #steemit8 years ago

Elephant in the room

First of all I want to address this. I am not asking for upvotes from whales. I have been very well paid in the past in fact disproportionately so for example my terrible introduceyourself post. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@william-noe/greetings-steemians
My plea is for the newcomers many of whom have been posting really good original content and are receiving little to nothing for their efforts. I also see what I would consider some subpar content receiving high rewards based on the posters reputation alone.

Is there a cost for upvoting

As far as I can tell there is no penalty for upvoting anything on this site your steem power goes down not your vested balance. In fact you are rewarded with vested steem when you upvote. When hard fork 8.0 was proposed I saw the writing on the wall. The curation rewards were set to some obscure algorithm where early votes did not go to the voters like they had in the past.
https://steemit.com/steem/@abit/new-curation-reward-algorithm-huge-penalty-to-early-voters
This effectively made new posts worthless to voters. Voters turned to the hot or trending posts if they were looking for rewards for their upvotes.

What is the cost

When voters turned away from new posts a lot of original content just got buried and never seen. I know it sucks to sort through the garbage that shows up on the new screen spam, re-posts and the like; but there are some real gems in there going largely unnoticed. How can the community expect to grow with this type of nepotism. Introduceyourself was good at first but came to be abused.

Unpopular proposal

This is probably a bit extreme but perhaps there should be a penalty for users who do not fill a quota of upvotes for a week. I personally try to upvote about a dozen posts a day even though my votes are worth less than a penny to the content providers. I look at steemd for many of the highest vested members and can fairly say that few of them upvote anything. Why not browse the new content and pick a minnow that is providing good content and make their day get them on the hot page for once.

Apologies

I’m sorry for my rant. I really love this site and what it means. I want more people to be included. I get tired of seeing the same people on the hot page day after day. I get angry that those who have been so richly rewarded fail to pay it forward to new comers. I don't want to point fingers or upset anyone; I'm merely observing and commenting. I'm asking for those who have been so blessed to upvote some of this great content before it goes away discouraged and unappreciated. I’m grateful I was earlier to this site and was rewarded more than I could have imagined. I hope to see less $1000 and $100 payouts and more $10 and $1 payouts and far fewer $0.01 payouts.

Respectfully
@william-noe

Sort:  

You are right. on one hand there's the changes implemented in the new fork and on the other hand is the people who's votes matter most are not that active. Is it because they can't see the trees (good posts) from the forest (a huge amount of new posts on the New page?

I wonder if maybe some new content categories split by content would actually make it easier for the so called whales to discover and vote on the content they are interested in.

I know you can go by tags but still it might be nice to have like sub-steemit sections with a Meme section, A twitter-ish section for few words posts..etc.

I agree there should be sub categories. An option to filter out topics (like memes for example) would also be great.

Personally I didn't see it as a rant...just the truth:)

can someone link me a video to explain how steem works? I'm a confused 44 yr old (sigh)

It seems to me the discovery of new articles quicker would be the best reason to reward upvoters....... why does it matter if its already trending and it goes from 20-100 upvotes... arbitrary numbers at some point....

Couldn't agree more.

It will take time to distribute the funds, but we're getting there. Upvoted this post because you're an active guy who will help spreading.

Feel you bru. And a (measly) up-vote for you

Thanks so much... I put some blood sweat and tears into my posts. Not unhappy as I spent years and years on other social media without a cent! I am not just here for the money. I want to share some of the things I know - about drawing and painting and from the research I have done and my journey with the blockchain and cryptocurrencies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84