Greetings Steemians!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello world.
I have been on Steemit for a couple of weeks. I was introduced to this site from a podcast on the LTB Network. I'm a mechanical engineer by trade so my writing skills aren't always that great. I started getting interested in bitcoin and cryptos around the peak in 2014 when it hit the news pretty hard. I guess I've always been late to the party. Anyways I got into mining using CPUs and graphics cards on a number of different coins, and also grinding it out looking for arbitrage on the exchange sites. I would say crypto is a big hobby of mine, but I'm not heavily financially invested. Most of my investment has been time and electricity. My other interests besides crypto and engineering are economics, puzzles of all types, board games, and outdoor activities.
I'm really excited about technology and I'm optimistic about the future. I feel that the next great technology is the driver-less car and I can't wait to get one of my own. I have heard that blockchain technology could make driver-less cars safer as well by using a token to say access an intersection.
One thing I would really like to see in the Cryptocoin world is a systematic way of valuating different coins. Much like stocks are selected on criteria such as P/E ratio and other metrics. In crypto everyone talks about the market cap which to me means absolutely nothing and is influenced by pump and dump and speculation only. I'm going to work on developing a better valuation plan at some point, but I believe it needs to be based on public acceptance and that a market exists for a particular coin, the security of the blockchain and wallet technology, the amount of hashing power and speed of transactions, and finally POS rewards or other interest earning potential. I'm probably missing a few items since I don't live in this world and I'm a bit of a noob.
Well thanks for reading my Intro. I'm glad to be a part of this community and I hope to be able to contribute quality content. Please vote william-noe and billynoe79 for mining steem.

Sort:  

Hi william-noe! Well met! I'm with you on the driver-less cars. No more traffic please :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67