Why I Don't Own a Smartphone

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

ben-white-124302.jpg

I'm one of the rare 24 year olds who still doesn't have a smartphone in 2017.

And here are 3 reasons why


divider-1024.png


1. I want to have my head up at all times...

Looking for rainbows or side-stepping an area where I might get pooped on by birds is easier to do when I don't have my head down at a screen. Seeing in front of me also helps avoid walking into things/people or falling through some kind of hole.


the-list-smartphone-injuries-100648235-large.jpg

source


2. I refuse to be addicted to notifications, apps and silly games...

I'd rather use that time more productively, like to think about what I'll post next on Steemit.


1sct50.jpg


3. A basic, "stupid" cellphone (for emergencies only) is good enough for me...

If you can't reach me by phone, try e-mail, pigeon post, telepathy...
Get creative; the possibilities are endless!

B7Mr8xhIgAAMhTT.jpg large1.jpg

source




If you or someone you know doesn't have a smartphone (or even if you have one), place your fist here:

brofistcover.jpg

source

Now have a nice day :)

Sort:  

Nice work. I agree with you. I don't give my phone permission to access my location or pics on 99% of the stuff that I use. I refused to get FB messenger and to give it access to my pics. Well... I am happy for your decision of not owning a smart phone. My only concern with that stand is that if we don't evolve with technology we might be missing out on certain things, but by the same token, do not let anyone shape you into someone that you are not. Standing up for what you believe is perfectly fine.

Thanks! And props to you for taking those steps to protect your privacy. As far as technology goes, I still try to keep up with it but only the kind that I need :)

People think I'm crazy when I say I wish I could throw my iPhone against a wall. Unfortunately, due to my work requiring it, I must keep dissociative hunk of metal. You are one of the lucky ones.

That's understandable. And I would feel the same way, lol :)

I liked this article. I am the same. Its fun to have a wider vision of the world.

Glad you did :) And yes, it sure is!

BlindChow Blind Chow tweeted @ 31 Oct 2014 - 03:17 UTC

[1864]
*sends carrier pigeon*
MY DEAREST BETH…I'D RATHER TOIL FOREVER IN HELL THAN BE APART ANOTHER DAY

*pigeon returns*
NEW PIGEON WHO DIS

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Okay. ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34