Who Is Working On A Market Place for SteemIt? Anyone?

in #steemit7 years ago

I don't hate Facebook like everyone else does.  I like it.  The past week has really pissed me off.    They shut down our free speech group which has 4000k members.  I would bring them here, if we had any type of communities ready.  Otherwise, I don't think SteemIt can handle it either as our tolerance for free speech is pretty low.

However, I also belong to about 10 groups that buy, sell and trade farm animals (chickens, goats, occasionally horses and dogs.  There is a huge national need for a site that really can handle free speech and simple sale transactions.  Obviously the farm animal groups wouldn't work until we had more adoption.  

If anyone is working on a Market Place on the SteemIt blockchain please let me know.  

If not, I am interested in spec'ing one up and getting estimates on what it would take to make it happen.

Sort:  

https://www.peerhub.com/ is pretty close to what your looking for.
As for community support on the site im not to sure i just looked up steem and market.

Thank you sir!

I hope there will be several different market places on Steemit. We don't want it to be centralized.

Hi @whatsup ! .. miss hearing you and reading your words on steemspeak - like you I find myself spending less time sitting idle in chat, and more time looking for ways to get moving .. forward .. always forward!

What you demonstrate here is a very good method of finding those niches that we can exploit! Looking for those things that the big boys refuse to support, and if need exists, as you know it does, we should act!

I do not believe peerhub is the right way to go, because it seeks to deliver too much to too many - we need to directly target these niches, and provide them a home. Perhaps communities when they arrive, will offer just such abodes, and we can use Facebook to reach out to those who require such marketplaces. I agree with you, Facebook should not be shunned .. it should be 'used'!

Hey @kurtbeil - yeah, I noticed you haven't been around much. It has been pretty quiet.

Agreed, websites and yes even blockchains and tokens are all just tools. Tools made for and by PEOPLE.

It always makes me laugh how people start to personify, villainize, etc. tools. I don't yell about that shovel I don't like. I just use and buy the ones I do like.

By the way, I love your 50 project. I can't commit, but I want to support it.

There are a few people thinking about the idea like myself. There are a few options for transacting in STEEM (Dollars).
Another idea is #steemshop which more may be read about here.
Or the use of coinpayments.net possibly.

Hi @whatsup
This is something we need on steemit, I also belong to various interest groups on Facebook, mainly to do with classic cars and motorcycles and the sale of these items. It will add a lot to steemit, if we could have these types of groups.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 22 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Peerhub is a pretty good start, but it needs a sizable injection of "ooomph" to make it a little more eBay/Etsy-like, if it is to truly gain some traction.

I think it might actually be a super important part of Steemit's future, as it would give us a commercial platform (aside from social blogging) differentiating Steem as a viable economic currency, not just as an investment opportunity. In turn, if we have a large and dynamic marketplace, it might drive up the price of Steem as it would become more attractive with investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98