How Flags Work:

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Flags and how they work

 

People talk of flagging and reasons to flag, but at the end of the day the Blockchain makes the laws. 

Other new sites built on the Steem Blockchain might be able to change the rules, but for now this is how it works.                     


 Simple Explanation of how the reward system works:

  • Each day the Steem Blockchain creates new Steem 
  • That Steem is distributed via our votes
  • The more stake you hold the more your votes are worth
  • When you post (or comment) the community has 3 options
    • upvote
    • downvote/flag
    • no action
  • A post is active for 7 days
  • When that week is over you get to claim whatever the balance is.

Whether or not you like how it works, that is all there is to it. 


I got triggered to remind everyone how it works when I read someone talking about their rewards being stolen.  That isn't how it works.  I know from experience it sucks.  However, it is part of the balancing act. 

Anyone can flag anyone at anytime for any reason during the 7 days a post is open.  


After that is all reaction.

We give lip service to the reasons we think people should flag... But the blockchain doesn't care.  Those with the most stake can give the biggest upvotes and downvotes.  Their stake gives them the right to allocate those funds.  


There have been calls to @ned to fix the system, but the system is  decentralized and without an Authority.  So, that means each and everyone of us that does not like the way the reward pool is being allocated has a responsibility for flagging and re-allocating the reward pool or accepting it.

The tools we hold:

  • Our upvotes and our flags (powered by SteemPower)
  • Our voices and blog page to try to sway others
  • Which witnesses we support to represent our voices 
  • Flagging groups or services are starting to form


Remember those pesky revenge flags fall into the same category.  

Enjoy!

@whatsup
 


Link to where I first talked about this


Sort:  

Which witnesses we support to represent our voices
I guess we need some new bloods. Either I'm so far away about flaggings or top20 doesn't even care about it, while they are busy counting bid-bot earnings. Since minnows' vote doesn't effect anything(literally anything) we are going to keep stare at and expect an alternative network to be born.
I'd rather earn half while I'm reading reasonable content, funny memes, instructional videos etc.

I have never flagged anyone even though I see so many spam, and obvious phishing attempts on my comments. Is it something I should be doing? I always just assumed that I didnt have enough SP to make a difference if I flagged.

Luckily there are a few bots out there looking for scammers and downvoting their accounts

Very simple explanation about how this place works, especially for new people that are still learning.

I think the reason we don't see more flags around is because of fear of retaliation, and its totally understandable.

Flagging is a tool for total dickheads who have more money than you to censor your posts because they are wankers...

Steemit would be far better without it

lol, that is one way to view it and at times accurate. They could also be a tool for better curation.

If everyone upvoted and downvoted, we would see better curation and less spam in my opinion.

It's hard to keep the emotion out of it when it involves your earnings, but if you can remember to detach, it hurts alot less lol. You can even see the humor in it, at some point.

All hail @flagawhale, a pioneering account.

This does need repeating weekly, but I won't be (up)voting you each time :)

lol, I'm good with that it is your stake, and I will return the favor. :)

A tentative show of approval to begin :D

You got a 4.15% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @whatsup!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

A genuine thanks to you @whatsup. I got so enlightened in this concept. It made me understand more the system. Thanks for adding treasures on my knowledge account. Shalom man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91