13 tips for those in Steem for the Long Haul.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Image Source

I was going to make a post about being in Steem for the long haul.  When I went to find some art to steal on the Internet I found the picture above and decided to use it as a "Story Starter" and try to come up with 13 tips off the top of my head!  Haha.



13 tips for those who want to be long term investors in Steem.

In no order, and from the cuff.

  1. HOLD as much as you can - Every Steem you earn helps you to earn more.
  2. Compare results to previous months so you can see that it starts going a little faster and a litter faster if you are holding
  3.  If you account is still tiny buy whatever you can even a few bucks will help, momentum grows once you get the ball rolling
  4. Post or reply often, remind people you are here by engaging and making comments.
  5. Network.  It is a Social Networking Site more than a Great Content Site.  Make friends.
  6. Don't pay attention to the dollar amount of Steem, pay attention to how many you are earning,
  7. Help and encourage other users, if you are in for the long haul, make it a fun experience for others as well.
  8. Don't complain often.  Successful people evaluate, figure things out and select a course of action.  They have already accepted life isn't fair and some dude named Dan isn't going to single handedly change the world with a blockchain.  (Although he may alter it some)
  9. Diversify your Steem Income.  Delegate a bit, sell a couple of votes, blog, comment, help SteemCleaners, Enter Contests.  Don't just play one game, invest in several things.
  10. Read about other cryptos and pay attention to the overall crypto markets so you know when Steem is just moving with the markets and when it is impacted by something directly.
  11. If you have a small account vote for yourself, I think you should do it if you have a large account too, it will make you feel better about holding.  Don't do it 10 times a day, but take care of yourself first and help others afterwards.
  12. Don't  expect to make it to trending if you don't buy votes and don't compare your rewards with those who are on it.  Set realistic goals and low expectations.
  13. REMIND YOURSELF WHAT YOU CONTENT IS WORTH ELSEWHERE.


lol, that was fun...  I don't mind my off the cuff list...

What are your top five tips for those in it for the Long Haul?  I'm curious.  

Especially the RedFish and Minnows who are doing great, tell us what you are doing that is working!  Everyone feel free to meet and engage in the comment section and upvote your comment.

Have some fun!

@whatsup


Sort:  
  • Use other front ends. Learn how they work. For example, steepshot.io isn't just a photo site... there's enough space in the "description" space to allow up to about a 300-word post. PLUS you get to use up to 10-12 tags. That's pretty cool!

  • Engagement, engagement, engagement! Don't just POST things. Get people involved in your posts by finishing them with one or more questions. Comments come more readily when people have a writing prompt.

  • Stop worrying about the price of Steem, every ten minutes!

  • If you're a newcomer, look around for contests and challenges. It's a great way for a small account to get an extra boost, and because they attract a lot contestants, it's also a great way to attract new friends and followers.

  • If you're motivated by friendly competition and want to engage with lots of people, join @abh12345's "Curation and Engagement Leagues." No cost; weekly prizes; lots of good people.

  • Focus less on "quality" content, and more on whether you are adding "value," in some way... "value" meaning what you post inspires people to interact in some way, rather than just pass by. Are you funny, educational, weird, informative, expert? Don't just spam crap... nobody likes that HERE, any more than on Facebook.

Mostly, just have a good time. As @whatsup said, it's a SOCIAL site. So be social. Don't just "beg for money and upvotes," that's just annoying.

Nice list also!

A few new ones. thank for your input!

@whatsup,
I don't think to make big plans at the moment! But what I feel as the best is collect more and more STEEM till SMT launch! I think it's the turning point of everything! And I think you might not regret what you did at this panic market time!

Cheers~

My tips.

  1. Don't Power Down
  2. Don't look at the prices
  3. Don't stop posting - a shitpost is better than none...lol
  4. Don't relent on engagement, meet people
  5. Absolutely, Positively Don't Power Down!

Especially the RedFish and Minnows who are doing great, tell us what you are doing that is working!

I’ll bite!

  1. As others have said, comment comment comment! But I have an extra trick here - when someone leaves a quality comment on my post, I try to not only reply on what they said, but also check their page and read and comment on one of their recent posts. I find that this is the secret magic formula for gaining a follower!

  2. Post quality content. This was not immediately intuitive to me what is meant. But I think I have it figured out a bit better now. Sure I could go spend two days researching a topic and writing a “quality” post about it. But I find it’s better to write about what I already know. I’m no expert on anything, but I do have unique experiences that I can leverage for interesting content. Stick to what makes you unique and you won’t go wrong.

  3. Get plugged in. Steemitbloggers was my community of choice, but joining a Discord group will do wonders for your reputation. It’s hard to go alone! Here, take this!

  4. Humor trumps seriousness. Make people smile when they read what you have to say and they’ll be coming back for more. If you’re not funny, at least be somewhat self-deprecating.

  5. Enter contests! This will give you a triple play of success. You will generally get way more upvotes, you will form new connections and meet new people, and it will solve the perpetual question “what should I write today?” 😀

Great things to do and I love the magic formula!

remind people you are here by engaging and making comments

Hello , I am here reminding you that I am making an engaging comment...

lol, good one and by the way, you are someone I am following because of your comments!

I am well aware that my blog posts are actual shit ...tks for the reminder...

comments is a different story...

Haha, I didn't say that at all. :)

I know you didn't say that but this is only way I can get people to see my posts.....It's a techniques we call in in the biz... PAP....passive aggressive promotion

Well, yeah the Kim K ass picture made me feel a bit sick. haha

we need the mASSES to join us on Steemit , don't we ?

When I went to find some art to steal on the Internet

Hahahaha

  1. Compare results to previous months so you can see that it starts going a little faster and a litter faster if you are holding

This one is huge. Until I began renting delegation, my curation rewards were pretty much non existent. As my investment out of pocket has grown with that, I am seeing much faster growth. I believe some of it though (which is why I rent delegation and do such small self voting so I can reward others) is that when others can be rewarded for the interaction better, they appreciate the interaction more. Not talking about the greedy suckup fake ass peeps, although I am sure they appreciate it too, lol.

  1. Help and encourage other users, if you are in for the long haul, make it a fun experience for others as well.

So much this. The quicker others succeed and enjoy being here, the quicker everyone grows. They will want to log in, want to interact with you. The only qualifier I put on this is don't be a fake ass, because you want to enjoy your time here too so this doesn't get to be like a job. Gravitate towards your interests and everyone will have fun.

  1. If you have a small account vote for yourself, I think you should do it if you have a large account too, it will make you feel better about holding. Don't do it 10 times a day, but take care of yourself first and help others afterwards.

This one I want to point out there are other ways to look at investing. Right now I am currently sitting at just over 5% self voting, it usually is between 3-4%. And I rent delegation as I said earlier. I have been told by some I know that I am being foolish, that i should be self upvoting at least 70% to recoup my delegation rental. But, I feel that investing in those i enjoy is investing in myself. It just isn't going to pay off today or tomorrow monetarily. But out of those in my circle, those that stay will one day be minnows, dolphins and maybe even whales. And I will be helping them get there. People complain about whale circle jerks. But I think some of that is the bonds they formed as they either mined or grew naturally together. This is where that bonding will take place, and this strategy will accelerate my growth I believe as time progresses.

Consider my last one my tip for an alternative approach. Thanks for making the list, some very keen observations there.

I think 5% is a good number and 70% maybe a bit too much. We went through a phase where people were training not to vote for themselves. I give one of my own posts a 100% upvote a day, which would average out to around 10%. :) Everyone has to find their own balance.

Fun list! And all very useful pointers. I really have nothing to add. Networking is key... it's not what you know, it is who you know. The networking game just about trumps all here, so might as well join the game and play it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely, "who can collect the Steem"? It's part game, part social media...

Here are my tips :
1 Never post for the sake of posting...Only post quality content
2 Never ever power down...power up as much as you can
3 Comment on other people's post
4 Comment on the replies to your post and don't miss out on any
5 Be active in discord and invest time for networking

If you do all these right you will be a success...
And this was such a great article that I would not like to upvote my comment...infact I would love to upvote this post :)

Excellent tips.

Thank you...I have followed these tips and am doing well..
Do visit my blog if you get free time...your suggestions would be valuable:)

For long hauls use autopilot....

A nice list of valuable tips here. I think it can be difficult to stay motivated when things seem flat so hints like yours are a good reminder to stay the course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91