You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 13 tips for those in Steem for the Long Haul.

in #steemit6 years ago

When I went to find some art to steal on the Internet

Hahahaha

  1. Compare results to previous months so you can see that it starts going a little faster and a litter faster if you are holding

This one is huge. Until I began renting delegation, my curation rewards were pretty much non existent. As my investment out of pocket has grown with that, I am seeing much faster growth. I believe some of it though (which is why I rent delegation and do such small self voting so I can reward others) is that when others can be rewarded for the interaction better, they appreciate the interaction more. Not talking about the greedy suckup fake ass peeps, although I am sure they appreciate it too, lol.

  1. Help and encourage other users, if you are in for the long haul, make it a fun experience for others as well.

So much this. The quicker others succeed and enjoy being here, the quicker everyone grows. They will want to log in, want to interact with you. The only qualifier I put on this is don't be a fake ass, because you want to enjoy your time here too so this doesn't get to be like a job. Gravitate towards your interests and everyone will have fun.

  1. If you have a small account vote for yourself, I think you should do it if you have a large account too, it will make you feel better about holding. Don't do it 10 times a day, but take care of yourself first and help others afterwards.

This one I want to point out there are other ways to look at investing. Right now I am currently sitting at just over 5% self voting, it usually is between 3-4%. And I rent delegation as I said earlier. I have been told by some I know that I am being foolish, that i should be self upvoting at least 70% to recoup my delegation rental. But, I feel that investing in those i enjoy is investing in myself. It just isn't going to pay off today or tomorrow monetarily. But out of those in my circle, those that stay will one day be minnows, dolphins and maybe even whales. And I will be helping them get there. People complain about whale circle jerks. But I think some of that is the bonds they formed as they either mined or grew naturally together. This is where that bonding will take place, and this strategy will accelerate my growth I believe as time progresses.

Consider my last one my tip for an alternative approach. Thanks for making the list, some very keen observations there.

Sort:  

I think 5% is a good number and 70% maybe a bit too much. We went through a phase where people were training not to vote for themselves. I give one of my own posts a 100% upvote a day, which would average out to around 10%. :) Everyone has to find their own balance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45