To share my identity or to remain anonymous.......

in #steemit7 years ago

I have yet to decide.

But I can see plenty of benefits and potential problems coming from both. I welcome the perspective of some more seasoned steemians too.

I write stories and songs and hope to inspire others, helping them realize that they are creating their reality and to encourage them to do so consciously. I am also doing whatever I can to promote strong communities that make it easier to share resources and cooperate. I'm really into pay-what-you-want and the gift economy.

So, Why stay anonymous?

  • Privacy, as if that needs being said. I value mine. Not because I have any dirty secrets but because not everyone likes you all the time and you become vulnerable.

  • Self-censorship, this may be the biggest reason. Some things you feel much more free to express when you know your parents aren't going to see it. If no one knows who I am, I can talk about anything no matter how private it is. Also, It's likely that eventually I am going to say something stupid and offensive to someone. I avoid making enemies but in the case that I do piss off the wrong person, It's nice to have more hurdles so that it isn't as easy for them to find my identity (although these days I doubt there isn't a way they could do it if they really tried). I really dislike making enemies, more than most, not because I'm scared of being disliked, but because it's tiring and sometimes people get unpredictable when you piss them off. I don't plan on pissing anyone off, but it seems so easy to piss people off in 2017.

  • Safety? , I'm not sure if I am overthinking here, perhaps it's futile. The main thing here is that I am friends with more than a few activists, some potentially under heavy surveillance. I am sure we are ALL on some kind of list, but if it's harder to make the connections, perhaps I can avoid being put high on the list, even if, for example, my music and writing became more well-known. I know very little about hacking, encryption and how the internet works, but I do understand the implications of the way metadata is collected and I think it might make it a little more difficult to collect by staying anonymous in a place where I will be going much deeper into my stance on things.

  • Freedom/Because I haven't done it since I was a kid. Back when AOL was kicking off I spoke anonymously in chat rooms. It felt free and kind of fun, mostly because of what I said above about self-censorship. Since facebook has come along, I've mostly used that as a means of staying in touch with many friends in different places. I've thought about closing my account many times, but because many of my friends are scattered throughout the world, it is convenient to have. And it's nice to have a place where no one knows who I am too, especially knowing what it's like to have people recognize you from your performances (not super famous or anything, but who knows what could happen).

  • My writing - I write short stories and have posted a few on a Patreon account where I hoped to stay anonymous. I really want people to focus on my art and ideas, rather on me as a person. As I said, I perform music as well and I know how people really obsess over those who they admire, for whatever reason they admire the person. I don't play on the stage anymore because it feels like there is an artificial wall there, I play very few shows now, and usually only casual collaborations because I feel that with the way venues and promoters focus on my face, my identity, my image, it takes away from the music.

  • Cult of personality promotes hierarchy, notoriety is power in our society. Artist/Fan, Doctor/Patient, Leader/Subordinate, I would love to break this pattern where those with knowledge or ability hold on to it, or use it to feel somehow superior to others who don't feel empowered. I admire Banksy and the way he (she?) creates art that reaches people and speaks to people but without becoming the center of attention. Also, I am not trying to reach as many people as I can, I want an audience that connects with what I do.

So why share my identity....?

  • To connect with fellow users on a deeper level, you can get closer if you let people know more about you and I would really like to connect with the people here, it's a great community, this is probably the biggest reason. I see so many potential friends here.

  • Generating interest on my posts - People will definitely take a greater interest in what I have to say if they can put a face to my writing. This means more friends, more money, less hurdles to reaching those who might connect with what I do.

  • The perks of being know - if people know you and like what you do, they are much more inclined to help you out, a place to crash, a free ride....

  • More pictures, I would feel free to post pictures from my personal life.

  • It's just simpler Or maybe it's not, I'm not sure.

This post is a lot more scatterbrained than I intended so I will end it here.

What do you think? I'm waiting for your replies!

Sort:  

I have stayed semi-anonymous. If someone really dug they could probably figure it out with some clues that I have left behind.
But since I post about controversial stuff here, I don't want to make it easy for any troublemakers to find me and harass me.

Right now the community seems so awesome, but in the future there will surely be more people looking to argue and troll. So I guess semi-anonymous is good.

I'm in the exact same boat and just had this same internal debate the other day. As you covered in your posts, there are pros and cons to both. And you're so right - it's not about having something to hide, it's about freedom of expression.

People judge. I don't even sign on my facebook anymore because I have nothing in common with so many people on there I grew up with. Many are conservative small town Christians with strong "morals" that they love to impose on others (*not attacking christians here - all groups do this)

Can we have 2 accounts on here? Is that a thing?

Great post - wish there was a way to internally bookmark stuff we like on here.

I don't have a problem with being judged, I just don't like how people sometimes cause problems and look for arguments with those they disagree with. For me it's more about being friends with activists because activism that has the potential to influence others is often lumped together with terrorism to the powers that be.

But I like what @francesleader said about "showing that you have nothing to hide".

As for bookmarking, all you can do now is bookmark externally or resteem and hope it'll be easier to find in your own junk. I'd be nice if we could make "playlists" of steems that fit into a certain category, a way to organize stuff.

I chose to share my identity openly both here and on all other social media. It helps friends from one medium find me on others and it proves that I have nothing to hide and nothing to fear.

I like that, to prove you have nothing to hide and nothing to fear....I guess it's mostly because of hearing about friends getting stopped at borders for activism and the fact that creating art has the potential to make you a lightning rod of attention .

It's not about fearing or hiding. Strong opinions alone can have a negative impact on real world life. Like...for example - a kindergarten teacher who also writes erotica - maybe even based on her personal experiences ! Or A lone conservative in a liberal town or visa versa.

The mythical kindergarten teacher risks losing her job if her online persona is connected to her professional persona. The conservative (or liberal - whatever, it's just an example lol) may have a hard time among his/her peers - maybe can't get hired.

Or freelancers in general. I write all kinds of stuff, mostly without bylines for work. I wouldn't necessarily want clients to know I work in various fields (you know, they'd think I was a jack of all trades, master of none, ) etc.

I'm glad you feel ok being you online and in real life, but not everyone else does, and it doesn't mean they have something to hide.

yes! I didn't realize you were the same commenter as above, otherwise I would have replied together.

How did they find your content? We you on a watchlist of some sort? This is by far the biggest reason on the list. I don't see anyone as an enemy, personally, I am always looking for ways to peacefully resolve issues, even when I'm on the shit end of the stick, but I have a lot to say about how sick society is and how everything from "the growing amount of mental illness" to our "inability" to end poverty are all symptoms of social illness and false premises taught in school and by the media rather than problems of the individual or problems with human nature.

I can probably still say a lot whilecensoring myself to some degree but it'd be real nice not to worry about that.

I only use facebook for two reasons, the amount of people from different cities and countries who I want to stay in touch with would not be able to keep track of otherwise, and because I'm in some groups there where we talk about really meaningful things and I don't even know most of those people in person. If it weren't for these two reasons I'd close my account tomorrow.

No worries - I was trying to comment on another comment - but it seems it doesn't always line up on here. It really is too bad that we can't internally bookmark blogs we like. Maybe that will be changed in updates.

Totally agree - I prefer peaceful resolutions, but unfortunately, not everyone is so diplomatic. Many believe an opinion you hold IS you. IE. Someone who is very pro government, pro police, etc - they just can't grasp anti establishment views. And visa versa of course. We are all guilty to some degree of living in bubbles. I like to break mine, and sometimes engage the other side as though I was learning about the issue for the first time - just to see where they are coming from.

100% on society - sooo true. We self censor while engaging in live society all day long - why not have a free space to voice our opinions ?

Same with me on FB too. I haven't deleted it, I just don't go on very often. But it would be impossible to easily reach friends around the world without it. It's good for groups too. I actually set up a writer FB that I join writing groups on. There are some useful qualities on FB :-)

Glad to be here! Looking forward to more of your writing!

Or the example the author used in the comment above mine ! It's real, it happens. I was detained once on a flight back from Colombia because I had a stamp from Yemen in my passport. I used to study Arabic. I was detained for no reason, held for hours, and separated from my group. Mind you I'm a white American woman, so it wasn't the stereotypical racial profiling -

The agent was so mean - asking me if I was a Muslim (I'm not but so what if I was?! , if I loved America or if I thought I'd be better off over in Yemen, asked if I was gay, if I was Christian, etc. ). He was the one who detained me, despite me being as respectful as I could be.

When I finally was allowed to see the real customs official - he presented me with a bunch of "anti american" articles I'd written while living abroad many years earlier - ie an article condemning the Iraq War and the illegitimacy of G W Bush's presidency. Like - soft, soft stuff. In the end he finally understood that I was genuinely interested in Arab culture, that I went to Yemen for an experience, to learn and to research - but still -

The point is, the author is right in his prior comment!

I have known that GCHQ of the UK have kept a file on me since I was 9 years old.
This fact has never impacted negatively on my life, quite the reverse.
I was traveling in Spain but lost my mobile phone. My son waited about a month to hear from me. He finally gave up and called Interpol.
11 minutes later a couple of "Men in Black" arrived at the address where I was staying temporarily. They presented me with my son's phone number and when I asked them how they had found me so quickly they simply stated "the micro-chip in the back of your passport, madam!" Cordiality and quick service which put my son's mind at rest in a jiffy!
Security doesn't always work against us, ya know?

I'm generally pseudonymous. Happy enough to make friends but people don't need to know anything or everything about me to like or dislike the stuff I draw XD

My life has taught me in the last couple of years... No matter how closed I am or open, people will find a way to hate me or love me. My newest identity is ME as authentic as I can be... because people don't like that haha and they'll run the other direction (thus giving me privacy from their negative energies,) or they will relate to me on a deeper level... until it's as deep as they can go. I guess people have their own reasons for privacy... for me, I don't believe there is such a thing anymore if one is at all a part of digital "civilization." Then again... I have no children or anything/anyone to protect.

No matter WHAT you share or DON'T share of yourself... people will make up their mind about who they think you are. So... keep a pineapple head if that makes you happy... because people are already putting a face to your words whether you share the real one or not :-)

That is actually my real head :-D

Thanks for coming and replying. Haters are the least of my worries. I think the meaning behind words is able to penetrate deeper when they aren't mixed into identity. If people know more about my identity and its all readily available, it will permeate deeper into their understanding of everything that I share. This is also the reason why none of my short stories share an exact location, names or specific cultural elements. I think it makes it easier to relate since everyone carries stereotypes whether they want to or not.

I appreciate your perspective, I might come out of the identity closet one day.

Meep.

Meep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50