I guess I’ve come a long way in a few months

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Despite the hopes that I would have accomplished more by now (those never seem to go away), I have to admit that I’ve done pretty well for myself at steemit. If I focus on all that’s wrong with the platform, and the frustration of writing a post and getting few to no comments and low payout, of course I’ll feel bad. The frustration that we feel sometimes is real and justified, but staying positive is the only way to stay productive and proactive. When I compare my situation 6 months ago with that of now, I’m doing awesome.

31F8C789-17F9-4A17-8316-4B693DBFBF07.jpeg
progress! Image link

My rep is about to tip over to 60 as soon as I get a nice dolphin vote or two.

I have 1215 SP and I’m already thinking about who I could delegate to.

Almost 1600 followers

I’ve managed to put together a crypto portfolio of over $1000

I’ve found people to share my ideas and artistic output with, some read every post!

Many are in the Be Awesome discord and many I’m already planning to visit once I am able to.

My minimum payout went from 0 to $0.30 to $1.20 to $2.20 to almost $3 now.

Almost all my posts get SOME comments, some get over 20!

—-

So it has been said before but it really helps with motivatation...try not to compare yourself to others because it’ll make you feel like crap. Of course it’s not all fair. We can and should work towards it, but you can’t expect steemit to suddenly be a paradise when we’ve been dealing with wealth disparity for centuries.

But you can expect progress.

If the me of six months ago suddenly fell into the stats of me today, he’d be overwhelmingly happy and much more motivated to keep putting everything into it. I hope it won’t be long before I have 5000 sp, 65 rep, 2500 followers and a minimum payout of $25 per post. Whether it takes 3 month sor 2 years, I want to remember how I feel now and appreciate all the progress made between now and then.

As long as you see progress, stick with it, and remember,ber, it’s not always fast. Appreciate it!


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" discord community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit" and make friends.

I’m also a language learning coach. Come find me if you need help learning a language.

Confessions of the Damaged - a collection of short stories

—-

I welcome crypto gifts :-D

BTC 1HsHctHFoZucpjEY9NfE4SHUfEpCQwaDVc

​ETH 0x252c2641438709687aec16d42974fbc3952f88d8

​LTC Ldzq13WK1fTDZe9p7WvaQhqWyx8TWcweNx

—-
U5drTgnBQ2qzxT9o1kcF5PmjeLSEKi1_1680x8400.jpg
by @skyleap

Sort:  

For a newbie also crawling my way up, this post was just what I needed to read this morning. There's no perfect system, so like you I plan to focus on the positives and work on every post like it's the next best thing.
It's standing still that's scary.
Thank you

I’m glad you read it then, this post was for you!
I wouldn’t put too much expectation into any particular post, but try to focus on the bigger picture of the connections you are making and the reputation you are building.

And those followers! Just about as many as me, which sounds right given we joined at the same time =D If you feel it's slow progress, consider it good. we're going through a natural, organic growth, not the inflated crap some of the big guys go through with fake followers and the like.

That being said, the number 1500 is more like 600 for most of us, and about 100 active. Sigh!

I know I don’t stay up to everything you post but I love checking in and seeing that you’ve been doing well too. That’s true, we are organic which means something. And it’s also important not to get sucked into the idea that all followers are real followers cause it creates false expectations, I think you’ve got the numbers about right.

I did open your recent post. I will get to reading it!

I always find solace in looking back at how far I've come, rather than looking forward at how far I have to go :)
Peace.

You are doing well! I just post at least once per day and keep my expectations low. That way anything is a bonus. I’m just thankful Steemit exists

That’s the right attitude to have. I try! I need to be overly righteous and keep my “lets save the world” syndrome in check and not get too excited over drama and disparity :-D ....not to NEED anything.

Ya man, I think you're doing fantastic and you're doing it your way, which is equally important. It's easy to get down by looking at other people's accounts and activity on the site, just keep doing what you're doing, that's all any of us can do, and hopefully it pays off big time in the end with steemit really thriving as a great community!

All I can do is try! I’m happy I’ve found so many awesome people here though, I always keep that in the front of my mind,

Post like these are absurdly awesome, people realizing they are doing way better than other and at that moment thinking of who they can help.

We have had a long journey on here brother. Let's just keep putting one foot in front of the other and keep being ourselves.

Always pushing myself to be myself despite all the shiny things dangling in front of me! Glad to have you along for the ride!

I may not always be at the door but I am at least some where in the yard.

It is pretty amazing how it starts to add up. I spent a year feeling like I wasn't getting anywhere. Slowly, ever so slowly... Now, it moves more quickly.

Can you remember any kind of a turning point? Around how much sp/rep/followers was it before things started moving faster?

What I can say is it is like compounding interest, everything starts to get bigger.. curation rewards, post rewards and then it all starts working with you. If you are able to leave the SP in it grows faster and faster. I mean it is still slow sometimes, but I seeing the impact of a base of SP.

You are doing great, man! Maybe not in terms of rewards, but your posts generate engagement, and you help the minnow-community a great deal. This is something that actually matters. I am sure it won't be long before you start making more money :)

The engagement is what keeps me going , really. Two recent posts had so much heart put into them, the payout was 90% from people who have me on autovote but the comments from people with small upvotes were amazing :-)

The most exciting thing about making more money is that it’ll be hate much easier to put out of my mind and focus on just doing what I do!

Does seem like you've done quite well for yourself, and you're proving that people can make it here with quality content, interaction and determination. Not a dolphin, but tossed a 100% vote your way to help nudge you on to that 60 rep. 60 "meant" something; like a signal that you're authentically "in it for the long haul." Well done!

Numbers are arbitrary but they’re nice landmarks sometimes to allow us to reflect on how far we’ve come and everything that’s happened in between so I don’t tskenthem for granted anymore. I’m glad every time you stop by. I saw a shoe store last week with a logo that’s looked a hell of a lot like yours, thought of you.

Hear, hear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62405.22
ETH 2436.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62