Why Spam Won't Last Here And How You Can Speed Its DemisesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

No I am not going to say that spam will be a non-issue in the future. It is something every site that becomes popular has to deal with and it will be here in some form or another as we progress. But I do think we will see less of it as people get used to the site. Why? Because spamming gets you nowhere. Spam can, in an annoying way, get you more views. It makes sense, the more your stuff is on the screen, the better the chance that someone will click on it. Even if by accident. But here is the thing with steemit. Views do not translate into money here. You can use views to sell stuff on your page but in terms of getting money for the post itself, a lot of views does not guarantee anything. You need upvotes and you need them from people with steem power and people with steem power do NOT like spam. They can usually see it a mile a way and it will only, if anything, annoy them. So as people spam, spam and spam and see zero results, they will get tired and try something else or go to another site.

Think of it like an animal that you should not feed because it will keep coming back for more food. This is what spammers are like. If you ignore them and do not reward them, eventually thy will wander off to another car. This means that we can all help by not supporting any spammy comments. The more we work to make quality content and comments and ignore the spam, the more the site should grow in that direction. Even cutting and pasting the same comment takes effort and most people will not continue to do it if it gets them nothing.

So keep working to make the site what you want it to be.

@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

good info bro

Bingo. That's why the spam thing does not bother me nearly as much as some other things. In the end, though, success is on me. Keep doing the right thing, do it as well as I can, and enjoy the process. The destination isn't on me, anyway.

I think that is one of the great things of steemit though right, that views do not translate into money or into more power in the platform! Only valuable content is rewarded, which, as you correctly said, reduces the incentive to spam. Thanks your article :)

Very nice post. I used to just give anyone who commented on my posts an upvote, but now I'm much more selective, especially with spammy type comments. Sometimes it's hard to tell between spam/someone meaning well but not commenting well. People want to get noticed, but it can easily turn annoying. But I think you're right, spam does not generate upvotes among the whales (at least).

Agree..... good posting. We have to keep the scammers poor lol..... upvoted and followed

Nice post !

Now if only the spammers would read these posts or care about them :-(

A member is trolling and spamming my blogs and then upvotes his own trolling spam post. An now he actually wrote a blog about my blogs that he is trolling and spamming on which is how I found out about his blog. Insane.

Here is his blog:

https://steemit.com/bitchass/@mrwang/a-couple-of-bitchasses-mrwang

Yeah the Steemit System prevents most of the spam by design. Thats very nice. But there are still a lot of generic "good post bro, follow my stuff here"-posts. I hope they will be gone soon. These people still getting upvotes, not very powerful ones but maybe enough. Especially if they use a bot or script to comment on everything.
But I think it will be a matter of time.

Now please upvote and resteem everything I posted in the last 10 years. Thanks! ;-)

A member is trolling and spamming my blogs and then upvotes his own trolling spam post. An now he actually wrote a blog about my blogs that he is trolling and spamming on which is how I found out about his blog. Insane.

Here is his blog:

https://steemit.com/bitchass/@mrwang/a-couple-of-bitchasses-mrwang

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74