If You Are Leaving Steemit, Don'tsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Dear pissed off at steemit,

To anyone who is upset at steemit for the HF or other changes. I get it. I don't disagree they could have been handled a lot better. Seeing rewards go from $100 to zero overnight was a kick is the ass. I watched my posts that had a few dollars go up by a cent or two a day thinking this isn't going to make it too far in the seven days. This isn't going to make it far at all... And although I have confidence in the two parties who are taking control of the marketing and the social liaison (both speak well and are great at being positive in the comment section), we are going to need more than 'breaking news, next week we have breaking news' and DYI marketing. But here is the thing, the site works. Before the HF people's votes were counting and the number of posts were increasing. You have a system were people can post anything, get it indexed by Google at a good speed and make money off of it. You can transfer money in seconds with NO fees. You can enter contests for free and win a coin worth real money. You are getting a piece of a reward pool that is being given away everyday. That reward pool can be worth millions if the price of steem goes up high enough. What other sites are doing this? And this is all without running ads which can increase the value of the site if it becomes popular enough and it is agreed that ads are the way to go.

But my main point of my post is this. If you are upset, take a break. Feel the site does not appreciate your long well-written articles. Take a break from them and work on something you like. Go outside and take some photos. Write about that movie you just saw. Had a really good burger, tell us about it. Although I agree with @triverse, we need as many content creators posting as the site goes through this growing pain, it is not worth getting upset over. You can step away for two weeks and come back. You can post a selfie and a hi and then go on to something else. This site does not require your constant attention. It's a social media site. Have fun with it. Flip through the posts while watching tv or waiting for an appointment. There is no point in leaving. Leaving applies this site is giving you stress. Don't let it. And in terms of your content, you still own it. You can reuse it somewhere else if it doesn't do well at a given time. You can reuse it even if it does. There are no pressures here. This is YOUR site. Post what you want, enjoy it, and if are unhappy walk away for a week or two.

But your account will still be here.

Your SP and voting power will still be here.

And we will still be here.


@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

Not trying to be conceited but I think you were trying to link back to my account or similar article on this matter. The name you used is similar but misspelled (no account under trisverse).

Great article and I hope people keep it in mind if they are planning on leaving for whatever reason.

Not conceited at all, I'm glad you let me know. I typed it in quickly as I wrote it as I was going to check it after and forget to. My bad. @triverse @triverse @triverse. There, now it is in the memory. Unless you are beatlejuice... then I doomed us all.

Depends on if someone is up to no good. I have been worse than Beetlejuice to people that have tried swindling gaming fans out of money in the past...

My feed on Steemit became poorer and my rewards are not increasing after a week. But I'm not going to leave. I'm really curious to see how this thing will evolute. It's a window to the future, Steemit. A future where contents and content creators will matter more and more - I'm pretty confident about it.

Agreed, I'm confident as well. You don't find your rewards for today's posts higher than a post you posting last week? I noticed a change. Not enough but a change. I do hope it gets back to old levels, the site was pretty sweet pre-HF.

It should get better in a week or two when the rewards pool fills up some! patience is the key (I hope)!

It's an important and interesting experiment, as is Golos.

But Steemit/Golos the site and company are not everything. The blockchains themselves, Steem in this case, is the most useful part in all of this.

For these there are now several other user interfaces that compete with Steemit.com.

Then there are also projects to create something better, that could rival the blockchain itself. It's all good creative experimentation. We'll see who and what does the most good in the market place.

yes, there are some interface to interact with these communities, and many new projects are developing their "alpha" (Yoyow or Synereo, for instance). they all have in commun the blockchain tech and the "reward philosophy".
I'm following all of them ;)

Here here! 😊

PREACH IT! I SO AGREE I'm HERE TO THE END! , or the BEGINNING :)

Tweeted it! @steemstarter .

Taking a break is a good idea even when times are good, even without the rewards steemit is still a great way for people to expose their artistic skills to a wider audience. Sure it could go away tomorrow or get hacked but I think its still a great platform for now.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Nice post @whatageek! I'm trying to approach this timeframe as a character-building exercise. I won't break!

I get we need to be active in adding positive criticism so the site reaches it's potential, but any 'this site sucks' posts are shitty to have on the trending/hot page, especially as there is nothing wrong with the site. It can and will be better but it works pretty well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64367.46
ETH 2522.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65