Even If You Sold ALL Your Steem Your Account Could Still Be Worth A Lot - The Importance Of A Good ReputationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I used to think SP was the most important part of having a successful account. The more SP you have the more you can get your work seen. But even if you have a lot of it, you can still only do so much. The real rise for a lot of users is when others jump on to upvote their work. And even if you have no SP, if you have the support from a lot of people who do (or even a lot of people with smaller accounts when HF 19 happens) your posts will still do well. Your account and rep is very important.

I'm not delusional. People with more SP tend to do better as they can get their stuff seen more and, as the system runs now, people tend to jump on to posts doing well as people want curation rewards. And when you can upvote people's comments for a dollar plus, people tend to be a little more talkative :p. But if you have an account on here, with a face or content that sticks out, that people like, your SP really doesn't matter.

Let's take @mynameisbrian for example. I hope he does not mind that I am using him as an example. If you are reading this, it is a positive example. You can spot his comics from a mile a way. He has his own style that is unique to him. His posts are also ones of quality. But his account has less than 10,000 SP. Yet his posts make hundreds of dollars each. I have a similar amount of SP and I can tell you he is probably only bringing in .15 cents for his vote. That means his name is worth more than his vote. Another user is @surfermarly, she is a vlogger who puts herself out there and her face is recognizable to users.

I cannot say it is easy or people who have popular accounts do not know people or it helped them that they were on at the right time. But if you can build an account that is unique, get some support going and build up a solid rep, you have something that is worth as much/or more than the SP in it. Think about it, a home for you to create that can seriously pay the bills.

I will be doing a post later about tips on building a brand. I will link it here when it is up.

Are you a newer user who knew no one on here and have a built a name here, let me know in the comments.


@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

Let's take @mynameisbrian for example. I hope he does not mind that I am using him as an example.

No I don't mind at all.

For those reading I'd like to explain exactly why I sell Steem. It all comes down to one simple thing: diversification. Over the past year, I have devoted an insane amount of time to this platform and to creating content. Sure I could let it all ride on Steem, but what would happen if this project fails?

I'd be left with a fragment of my earnings and lots of lost time :(

So I sell a portion and convert it to other cryptocurrencies. It was my goal to steadily increase my SP holdings while doing this and I was making some great progress prior to the change to the 7 day payout. Now that payouts have normalized I am hoping that I once again can slowly grow my SP to around 20K while also diversifying a portion of my payouts.

So to sum things up, my method has been...
If my account is shrinking I don't sell, but if it is steadily growing despite selling a portion of my earnings then I am on the right track.

I share this because I think it is a great strategy for many Steemians that don't plan on ever becoming a mega-whale.

Hey you did come across it.

That is smart Brian, this site is great but it is always wise to diversify. And even if you wanted to sell all your steem and buy a gold toilet with it, that is your money to do what you want with it. Plus you work your butt off and bring quality, your content is the investment in the site.

Hey you did come across it.

Of course. I use esteem which has mention notifications. You should try it if you are not using it. It's worth it just for the notifications alone.

That is a nice feature, I don't know if I'm popular enough for that yet :p

Ya I've already seen reputation have s big impact here. But it probably should, I think it's a good thing. It provides a decent balance with having rep and steem power. It could be better of course. And I think it will be. Thanks for sharing. I'm new here, and I don't really know anyone. But I've yet to get a following. One day at a time. But keep posting good content, and I will keep following sir!

Patience and constant involment will get you going :) You got a new follower right now and I will for sure check out your blog

Thanks, let me know how you do as you post. I think the easier it is for new users to make an impact the faster the site will grow.

I will let you know how I do. I'm not really here to make money. But it would be nice haha. I just want to learn things and teach what I can. And to support cryptos and the future of social media, the internet and everything. Go block chain!

Great advice. I'm new to Steemit and this post will definitely help in making a good reputation on this awesome platform. Thanks for taking the time to write it.

Let me know how you find the site and you post :)

I will for sure mate. Just followed you so that I don't miss any of your posts.

Nice tip!. I've seen some newbies transfer a lot of SP to their account, but i don't see them making comments or participating in other peoples blog... Interaction is key here to build reputation...

Absolutely true that Interaction is key here to build reputation. Well stated.

I still don't understand how reputation grows. I got flagged in the so called "Experiment" a few times and it seemed it got stuck. I did not move for a long time and ow very slow.
Good article!

67 is actually a very high rep. There are only maybe a hundred or so people with a rep that high.

Wow I had no idea....Thanks for this info

Yeah it takes time to go up from there. check out steem.cool to see where your rep is and see how much it is growing.

Will do! Thanks much

Ya the creator of this site has 74 rep. So I would say your rep makes most people envious. Myself included haha!! So good job, Jeep doing whatever your doing. I am following you now, the humble lady with high rep lol :) !!

You are sweet and funny. Nice to meet you:) if you scroll down my blog you will see how many zillion hours of fun I had here on our wacky but awesome platform. I bet you will love it.

Awwe thank you :) I have enjoyed it so far. My favorite part is commenting and replying to comments. You know, actual conversation haha. But one day I will have my steemit posting form down and enough followers that maybe posting will grow on me! The more original content the better after all!!

Best of Luck and I could go on chatting with you but it's already 3am in Vienna 🙀That's what happens

True @mammasitta. That is usually the challenge one faces when flagged happens. I got flagged down maliciously by @matrixdweller during my first month in steemit. A few days later some group of people from God knows where flagged me down and I lost 1 or 2 rep. Since then it has been difficult to build it back. I only managed to add 1 rep after one month. It really sucks when malice is the reason for flagging down instead of misconduct. How does one get justice for this kind of injustice? The matrix dweller in question was severely dealt with for misconduct a week or two later. Karma played out, but him and maybe his cohorts succeeded in bringing down my reputation.

Great post, you really put usage of our Steemit accounts in perspective. Honestly I am low low on the SP right now but do fair, I think a big key to that is just being proactive with making sure you engage the readers who really like to talk to you about your work and mingle a little out there on Steemit. Friendships and community go a very long way, I know I was involved with the PIVX project awhile and that got us going majorly by just being proactive with our community and new found bonds made through friendships. I suspect the same goes here in Steemit. You write some great stuff and always get my upvote, great post one again

very useful information. Thank you for sharing tips about Steemit for us newbies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66