You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Verification and You! How, Why, How to ask, and How not be a #$%@ about it!

in #steemit7 years ago

I guess I don't really get it. Why is "verification" so important? Sharing a picture of myself doesn't prove anything unless I'm a celebrity trying to convince you I'm me.

Also I don't really care who you are. For instance, I read this post, and it's full of useful information. Doesn't matter to me if you're name is Renee, or Steve.

Here's my personal example, maybe you can use it to explain the importance of verification to me:

I'm considering posting a guide that tells you how to remove a virus from your Chromebook.

Why should I verify who I am? Why does who I am matter? Does who I am affect the information in the post? I'm a nobody. Nobody is going to read my post and say "oooh look it's James Welbes, I know that guy he's very smart I'm sure everything in this article is top notch". They're going to go "oh look there's some guy holding a sign with his name on it that I've never heard of, gee good thing he verified that he is who he says he is"

Does any of that make sense? I'll "verify" if it helps prevent the red badge of shame, but honestly just because I take a picture of myself with my name on a piece of paper doesn't mean that my post wasn't stolen from someone else.

Sort:  

What I gathered from the OP post was that there should be a sort of protocol for verification in such circumstances where verification would lend credibility. You make an excellent point though welbinator... people might interpret some unnecessary notion that verification is somehow "always" preferable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85