You Have To Crawl Through Crap To Reach Your Steemit Dream (A Shawshank Analogy)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Almost everyday I hear a friend a client or one of my children say... "If I just had _______, I would be able to get it done." I'm here to tell you that is crap! You don't need anything, to get things done except for you.

One of my best friends is a former number 1 Billboard Dance artist and DJ, and he is very talented. Just not too motivated. He tells me all the time, if I just had the right editing program, I could make more music. Or he says, If I just had someone to help me run the programs, then I could crank out music all the time.

The problem is, those are excuses. Roadblocks that he has created to keep him from actually making the music on his own. He is either scared of success or scared of failure, but either way he is scared of something. He isn't allowing his God given abilities to make music to flourish, because he is letting fear get in the way. He's fighting through it, but it's hard for him. It's hard for a lot of us.

Here's the thing, he has some music programs. He's made other music on his own. He just wants that stuff to make it easier... well don't we all. It would be nice if I had someone I could give a topic to and they would write my Steemit blogs for me, but that isn't how it works. You have to do it yourself and build up your reputation and earn followers one by one.

If he did make his own music and was consistent, then he could afford any program or any help he needed. The thing is, he isn't willing to swim through crap for a while to get to the freedom on the other side. (Think Shawshank Redemption)

A lot of like that if you are honest with yourselves.  We say we need things in order to get things done. That isn't true, we may want things to make a job easier, but we don't need anything but ourselves to get it done.

It is a lot like that here on Steemit. If you want to be someone, you just have to go out and do it. Having things like a new camera, or a new computer or money to travel to cool places might be helpful, but you don't need it.  You can just put in the work. Write and commit. Everyone can do it, but not everyone has the fortitude to post great content for a couple of months with little to no recognition.  They don't want to crawl through the crap.

What sparked this blog was a very kind comment from @kdcory. On my post, I Even Dream In STEEM - A Love Poem To Steemit, he mentioned I should be "bigger" because I had good content. I thanked him and said, that is how it its. And it's true... there are no overnight celebrities on Steemit.

We have things we say we need in order to succeed, but the truth is you don't. You have everything you need now. YOU!

I bet Tim Robbins would have liked a pickaxe instead of a rock hammer in Shawshank Redemption, but he used what he had. It took him a long time, and he had to crawl through crap to get there, but that only makes Freedom that much sweeter.

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

Don't let anything stand in your way of putting your best effort to living your dreams. It takes hard work, consistent hard work, but if you do that and you have the skill, you can win. You don't need anything or anybody. You have you! Now get busy living.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below. To my followers, you are the Shawshank to my Redemption. 

Sort:  

I mean really, how often do you look at a mans shoes!

Great analogy. Keep pushing the crap! Because sir, you got the wardens good shoes on.

Darryl

HAHAHAHA, good one. Nobody ever noticed before. lol. Thank you for the awesome reply.

Get out of my Way People... HERE I COME !!

Thank you so much! There are many brilliant things about this post, but the fact that I was mentioned by one of my favourite content-posters on this website and that you used my second favourite film of all time in conjunction is so awesome! I cannot thank you enough, my friend :)

I was watching a football show, I think it was that HBO show Hard Knocks, or maybe it was Macbeth. Either way, a guy in it says to his buddy. "You know, it's football. You go out and play football!" In the context of what he was saying it was amazingly wise, like he could have said, "It's life, you go out and live it." Just do it. Also, didn't Martin Luther King write a speech on toilet paper in a jail cell? Or is that a myth. If it's really something we want done, we'll find a way. If we remain afraid, we'll never write a famous speech on toilet paper. Maybe I should be finding a different moral, but side note- have you ever tried writing on toilet paper, not easy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55