Why Steemit Could Be The Most Important Platform In Cryptocurrency

in #steemit6 years ago

Cryptocurrency took its first steps into the mainstream in 2017, but there is a problem. Currently, crypto is difficult for the average person to understand and learn. There are challenges with downloading wallets and keeping keys safe. People need to learn not to keep on Coinbase or exchanges. There are so many things that hinder the public from taking the fist step into crypt.

But then there's Steemit.

(Source)

Steemit is like most other blog or social media sites. You sign register and you are given a password. Unlike most though, you can't lose your password. Period. Once you are in, earning and learning about crypto is natural. The blog setting makes it easy for people to take those first steps.

Just the fact that you have to keep your password super safe and can't lose it, that starts teaching people about the intense security in world of crypto.

People can learn to send and receive crypto using the platform of Steemit. They can learn how marketplaces work and how to convert SBD to Steem.

All the lessons that you learn simply by engaging with the platform, are the 101 classes of crypto.

Right now, there are few platforms like Steemit that make it easy to start learning and understanding crypto. Even earning crypto. The only other one would be Coinbase in my opinion. They make it very easy for people to buy into crypto, but Steemit is a different beast.

The true value of Steemit is that the entire site, every single member is aware and at some level understands cryptocurrency. Possibly the largest community of its kind. In the future, that will pay off in spades.

When you invite people to Steemit, you are really inviting them to the world of crypto. As the community grows, the value will also grow exponentially. 

In my opinion, Steemit is the most important platform in bringing new people to crypto. It may not always be that way, but right now it stands alone at the top.

Let me know your thoughts.

Do you agree? If not, what platform would you pick?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Steem blockchain is the most active in all crypto, first crypto to have a real use case besides currency and the community is amazing, we have alot of projects besides steemit without any funding or ICO's. I share the same opinion, is a good way to attract people into cryptocurrency
Thanks for the article

I had never thought of it this way, but I think you're right. While I got involved right before Steemit, I've learned so much on this platform that it has definitely made me a more well-rounded person when it comes to my knowledge (still a super noob) within cryptos.

In a recent Papa Pepper interview, he was discussing that he didn't even know what HTML was and the other person he was interviewing also said they rarely used computers, so it's certainly drawing in people who wouldn't be in this space without it.

I agree 100%. bringing new people to the space and familiarizing them with things like crypto, html and even sharing and private keys will go a long way in helping people get to the future. Technology is growing faster than the public can learn right now, and at some point the ones that don't jump in are going to be left behind. Thanks for reading and the great reply. I appreciate it. I'm going to go to your page and show some love.

Agree. I used to go to Reddit a lot before I found Steemit.

I find there are fewer and fewer posts on reddit, and a some other places that don't descend into petty arguments, or inflammatory FUD.

What I like about Steemit, is people are aware that it is very much about generating good content, whether by blogging, or in responses.

As such I find the level of debate and the quality of information very high. People seem to very much care about their reputation on this platform.

I think it can only grow as a portal of education on crypto.

Good article.

You are totally right about the quality of content... generally. lol. People are a lot smarter and willing to discuss and encourage here while people on like... Facebook like to debate and discourage. It is a great platform for many reasons. Thanks for reading and the great reply.

Totally agree. I really had very limited knowledge of crypto before joining Steemit. It's a great introduction to the crypto world and a great platform too!

totally. Steemit rocks as a platform, but is so much more. Thanks for the reply.

Nice article. I agree. Steemit is great for beginners in the crypto world. You learn about crypto, the importance of networking, consistency in writing and delivering content.

100% right. It is a solid platform, but to take it one step further, the STEEM blockchain is pretty amazing too and will probably at some point grow faster than Steeemit with future applications. Thanks for reading and the reply. You got a new follower.

Nice Information, thanks !
Make sure to check out my airdrops posts too!

I was discussing with my roommate today about bank security versus cryptocurrency security and he kept wondering what made Coinbase so much more safe than a bank. Media's extensive investment-focused crypto coverage has left out certain very important fundamentals, and I agree that Steemit serves as a great introduction.

coinbase is not safer than a bank, not at all. It is safer than a lot of other places to buy, but you want to buy or sell to your account there. After you buy you want to send to another wallet. Eventually a hard wallet. Hope that helps. Thanks for reading. Hope you are doing well.

I agree Steemit is very important and could be one of the biggest for sure. It connects all regular people to crypto and I think a platform like this is the future for many people to earn a living.

You got a 7.66% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @walkingkeys!

I totally agree with you. 31 days ago, I taught Bitcoin is the only cryptocurrency in the world. Here, I am now today checking the crypto market to see how it's going and where can I throw my few SBD/Steem, all because of steemit.

Steemit is the best platform so far no doubt about that. It gives newbies the idea of what blockchain holds and lots more. Maybe, APPICS can also recruit more set of people (younging) to blockchain using their new Token, XAP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35