5 Keys To Steemit Success

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit is a wonderful community filled with some of the smartest and most interesting people on the planet. This post is designed to help teach new people some of the important keys to success. This isn't just for minnows, these 5 Keys To Steemit Success are for everyone.

1. Give, and give often

The entire structure of Steemit is built an a giving economy so apply that to how you treat Steemit. Take a moment out of each day on Steemit to go and read a post or two from some minnows and upvote the ones you like. Help and encourage them. If you learn something from a person on Steemit, let them know in the comments and give thanks. Find opportunities to give on Steemit and things will work out for you as well.


2. Add value to the reader

It doesn't matter if you commenting or writing a blog, try to add value to the reader. If it is a comment on a photograph, give great feedback as to why you liked it. That adds value to the poster and reader. If you write a blog, make sure at the end you gave your reader some value for their time. Teach them something, encourage them, save them money, help them make money or become more successful. Just find ways to add value.


3. Actually read the blogs on Steemit

There are always a bunch of new people that clearly are not reading and leaving just one word replies. That doesn't help anyone, especially you if you don't read it. The content on Steemit is awesome and you are really missing out if you don't read and explore the incredible information on this site. Read the blog, don't skim, don't just look at a picture and comment, read the thing... then add value to your comment.


4. Hoard STEEM Power

If you really want to be successful you need to put as much of your SBD into STEEM Power whenever you can. SP will help you get more rewards for you voting, commenting and it will help your posts get noticed more. I convert almost everything to SP in increments of around $20 by using Blocktrades.  You can also convert it from your wallet or in the Market. If you have some extra money, it isn't a bad idea to invest in STEEM Power to help you move up faster.  


5. Grab attention where you can

You need to make sure that you are using good pictures, good headlines, good first lines and good tags if you want to succeed on Steemit. If you can do all four with each post, you will be able to get a lot more views on your blog. This is especially useful for new Steemonians. 

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

THESE MIGHT HELP

I hope you found this blog helpful. Let me know of any other Keys to Steemit Success in the comments below.

To my followers, you are the lead in my mechanical pencil. 

Sort:  

So much good information in here, I think number 4 is key. I will try to not to power down on top of earning Steem.

I agree it is very important. I am doing whatever I can to keep building mine up. It takes time, but we'll get there!!!

Your posts have helped me in my journey on this platform. Thank you.


I am very glad I can help. You are very kind. Thank you for your ongoing support.

Appreciate the tips you shared with us. I am new and trying to find my way.

No problem. I am glad to help. Welcome to steemit. You got a new follower for your journey. Good luck!

Great write up. :) I agree with most of it.
One small part I disagreed with was..

There are always a bunch of new people that clearly are not reading and leaving just one word replies. That doesn't help anyone

I don't really like that behavior either and don't promote it, but.. I do think comments work similarly on here as they do on other social media like Facebook and such and if so then each comment should help with the algorithms and getting your post seen by more people. So.. Those bots and people who do that aren't totally useless. Heh. Still gives a bad image in my opinion though, as I mentioned I don't like it.

HAHAH, you are very right. There can be some residual effects for the blogger, but the single word replies won't help that person become successful. I follower everyone that leaves a good reply on my stuff... I don't follow one word replies. lol. I will respond with one word though... hahaha. I appreciate your insight and thank you very much for reading and replying.

Yeah the residual benefits are there. But i can't stand it when people do. Just a couple days ago i posted about the death of my SIL from heroin overdose. First comment was "nice pics" like really?

yeah that isn't cool. Sorry to hear about you SIL. Thank you for reading and replying.

Sure thing, I enjoy your posts

Another doozy! @walkingkeys you seem to have found a good stride... you put out great content but just as important, you do it with consistency. It takes me a long time to create a post. I remember you advised me to up my posts to 3 a day. Can you be more specific with the process you go through from a time perspective? If you already have a previous post I haven't found, please direct me to it. If not, maybe that would be a good topic of the day? :)

Karen you rock. I really appreciate all your support on my posts and I am more than happy to help.

My process is likely different than most people's because for many years I wrote 6 blogs/articles a day. I had a column in the paper for a couple of years and I write at least one poem every single day. So my writing experience is a little more advanced than some... That being said, I work backwards from the Title most of the time. I keep a list of potential titles and that helps me. I explain a lot in the link below.
It will help you in picking out topics and knowing what to write. There is also blogging more about your day. That one you did about donating blood was awesome. More stuff like that would work too. I hope that helps. Look below for the link and thank you so much for the kind words and ongoing support.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@walkingkeys/5-tips-to-writing-great-content-on-steemit

Wow! You wrote 6 articles a day!? That's super impressive. Now, I can see how 3 a day is a breeze for you. I will look at the post you attached. I know it will help.

Yeah, but I had to do them by noon each day. lol. It isn't easy, but it comes naturally I would say. I actually spend a lot of my down time driving or making lunch thinking about what to write about. I hope it helps.

I just about fainted. By noon! Are you sh*&(^$ me? What time would you start in the morning?

Around 9. Somedays it was just five to be honest.

Wonderful tips my friend! I wish I had read that when I started its very uplifting thank you for helping out us little guys!

You are more than welcome. I hope you can use them and gain more success here. You're already doing a great job... Thanks for reading and the kind words. You rock!

As always your posts add value to my experience. I do try and make meaningful comments and find one word answers a bit off putting. I agree with all the points you made and will continue to watch for and read your posts with interest.

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your kind words and I am happy I can add some value to your Steemit experience. Thanks again.

Very helpful post, keep it up!

All good tips!

need to get better. yes. sometimes i dont know what to put!

It takes time, but keep working at it. I am sure you'll get it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34