My favorite shop in town?

in #steemit4 years ago

I live outside a small town/village.

The town grows if it comes to shops but they disappear as fast as they start. Only a few remain. It's hard to tell why the shops have a hard time since most of them do sell food and drinks, candies and cookies.

Most of my shoppings I do fast and all at the supermarket which is the cheapest.
For some items I visit a different one because the items are cheaper at that place or way better.

"What is my favorite shop", I ask my children.
"You don't like shopping", the youngest answers.
It's true I hate shopping and avoid it as long as I can and if possible I send one of my children to get what we need.
I rarely shop alone. Always at least one of the children comes along to carry and we try to leave asap.

I make a list and as soon as we enter the shop it's clear who goes getting what.
The shop isn't the place to chat, meet people for me. It's the place to get out asap. If it's crowded or people line up I won't go inside.

The best shop for me is where the people who work there are helpful but do not follow me through the entire shop asking me if they can help me like they do at Blokker.
It's not customer friendly following customers. It makes you feel unwelcome as if you are a shoplifter. It's one of the reasons I avoid that shop.
Annoying too I find the never-ending questions and remarks about side effects of products or how to use them if I pick up meds or buy meds or other products at the drugstore. Etos is one of the drugsstores who does not let you read the prescription in the box before buying, knows nothing if you ask them but makes those remarks at the moment you pay.

I believe each shop in our town is the same as in all the other places in the country.
I guess most of it is franchising or owned by one big company.
The only difference made is by its size and the people who work there.
Generally speaking, most people working in our supermarkets are friendly and helpful so are those working in other shops. They learned the customer is king and a satisfied customer will come back and promote your shop to his friends.

In our shops male and female customers are equal.
You are not treated like a dog because you are a woman. Money is money and a shop needs it if it doesn't want to go bankrupt.

Once my favorite shop was Xenos, later it was Action but I do no longer visit those shops since I moved. A shop can sell great things for a lower price but if you need to travel for one hour for it it's pointless to me. We have a small Wibra. The shop is really small but they sell all kinds of products just like Action does. Clothes, buckets, cookies, cleaning products, skin& healthcare products, schoolstuff, batteries, wool, postcards, etc. Just like the supermarket I like shops like these. I hope they won't go bankrupt and stay for a long time.
A few times a year I go to a supermarket named Coop and buy more groceries for the winter. I save for that and if I go I can buy stamps for each 50 cent I bought one. If I filled a booklet I get money for these stamps at the shop plus a few euro extra. I like this way of saving and those few euro extra is more as what you get at the bank.

I am satisfied with the shops we have.
I can buy what I really need and know the prices by head. I can avoid the unfriendly shops (the employees) and still buy what I need and can afford.

PhotoGrid_1588679100166.jpg

This is my entry to 100 DAYS OF STEEM : Day 32 - Monday Challenge - My Favorite Local Shop

#CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests are hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

!trdo
$trdovoter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45