Steemit.com Shark - Website Error Mascot Proposal

in #steemit7 years ago

171007_Steemit-Error-page.gif

Technical Difficulties?


Every website needs a mascot for the best of times and the worst of times. Yesterday Steemit.com was down and we were faced with a discouraging "HTTP ERROR 503" that didn't really tell us much about where to go or what to do. What if (at least) we had a Steemit Shark instead? This mascot proposal post is in response to @lukestokes's post titled Steemit Needs Its Own Mascot of Failure.

Thanks @intothewild!


The idea for the shark and tagline came word for word via @intothewild. Thanks for the hilarious idea :) I hope you like what I've done with him.

shark-proposal.jpg


follow-voronoi.gif

Sort:  

Wow, that was super fast and I am massively impressed! Nice work, I think it looks great!! Glad you liked the idea so much to put some time and effort into it :) Makes my day!

Ah I'm glad to hear that! Thanks for the idea and material @intothewild :)

Lulz I like this idea, but let's hope we don't have to see the shark too often. I don't want like an annual shark week on steemit or something.

And so, the Steemit Shark was born! I like it... and we do totally need something like this.

In addition to the twitter, we also need an external site for technical updates ("steemstatus.org" or something like that) where the devs can post updates.

Absolutely! We do need a consistent status page as well

Great addition @denmarkguy love your comment on an external site for tech support

Excellent! Very glad to see people putting out ideas. Thanks for the shout out. I hope Steemit is listening.

I personally do want to see a juicy shark every time there is an error ;)

From what I've read steemit.com was ddosed yesterday so it was also not possible to deliver an error page like you suggest :/

But I love your artwork and the idea in general 😍

I love this!! I hope that gif is used, possibly extended or shortened a bit so it looks nice while looping.

Haha thanks calaber. Ah yes need to tweak the gif loop a bit and make it smoother :)

omg this is lols to the max

nicely done <3

Maybe add a link to a list of alternative interfaces for Steem blockchain.

Haha dont do it. It will encourage people to try and take down this site so they can see this awesoke mascot :p

I'd agree, @gniksivart. On the other hand, it's good for website dev's to ensure the site is prepared for any event.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36