You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NEARLY Losing Access To $7,000 On Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago

Personally I think by the time your account is worth enough that it would hurt to lose you should have the password memorized. Offline backups are great but if my house burns down I want to make sure my passwords are in my head as well.

Sort:  

How do you find the times to memorise 32 characters and their case whether it be upper or lower and remember everything else happening in your life aswell?

typically for long passwords I turn them into sentences where the first letter of each word is a letter in the password. If it is something really important I make it a sentence and then put it to music. Think of how many song lyrics you know. The upper and lower are done with notes going up or down or pitch bends or anything that helps me remember. The process is obviously easier if I get to choose the password.

Here is a perfect example. Listen to the lyric of this at 4:29. No one would ever guess that as a password especially if you replace the spaces between the "words" with a meaningful number.

So Humala bebuhla zeebuhla boobuhla Humala bebuhla zeebuhla bop

becomes

Humala3bebuhla1zeebuhla4boobuhla1Humala5bebuhla9zeebuhlabop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76