You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beggar Parade Hits Steemit: Calling Bullshit On Impersonal Commenting Facades...

in #steemit7 years ago

@rok-sivante While I am sympathetic to some underprivileged people trying to use Steemit to supplement their income, I do not think they should do so by spamming without adding any value to the platform. As you have correctly pointed out, spam comments are on the rise and are nothing more than begging. I think the follow4follow culture from other social media platforms is being brought over by these new entrants. On those platforms, there is no intellectual discsusson most of the times and interaction mostly consists of liking each others weired selfies and building huge followings through follow for follow method. For Steemit, intellectual interaction and wood quality original content is required. Both types of media platforms are poles apart. I hope new entrants realise this.

I saw a couple of initiatives for flagging spam. Sad kitten by @personz for example. I also notice some senior Steemians starting to flag spam comments. I guess this is needed to protect integrity of Steemit. I am a relative newcomer but have seen how such spam can be detrimental to good interaction. The advent of voting bots and hundreds of spam accounts being owned by people worries me. Let uḍ hope we find an effective solution very soon.

Thanks for taking the stand and bringing this issue up in your blog. Cheers. Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64