Steemit Rocks - Going all in even if I am [Homeless]!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I believe.....

I have been a Steemian for 1 year now, it hasn't always been smooth sailing but I am so commited to Steemit that I recently gave up a profession that was working me to death for nothing (truck driver), moved into my 1996 Ford Van and made my way to Denver, CO. I am living in that van, traveling around Colorado taking Photographs (and video) and writing.

I have been posting my experiences on Steemit via "[Homeless] Daily Update ...." post for the last 11 days now with mixed success. Steemit is my only source of income right now and it is how I continue to survive. A week ago I started a Power Down (which I really didn't want to do) and today got my first Steem Power Down Payment.

Because I so heartedly believe in Steemit and my ability to earn a living Writing/Photographing and then posting to Steemit I made a huge decision today!

Huge Descision

With a fresh influx of cash I decided to do a few things. I:

  • Ordered 500 Business Cards (from Office Depot) and they will be ready today.
    DQmSdtnPbtRetk9UpYPTYdxb1ZHjcSZbcf4LA53KCTdRty6_1680x8400.png
  • Ordered 3 22"X14" poster boards and they will be ready in the next 3 days.
    photography.png
  • Bought a Canon Selphy Compact Photo Printer along with Ink and Photo Paper.

The Plan

I am currently awaiting a Background Check to be completed with Uber so I can a.) Get a car through them & b.) have a steady income driving for Uber while maintaining time to write and photograph. However, when I am approved, I will need $250 to "lease" a vehicle through Uber and approximately $300 to acquire "Full Coverage Insurance" that will cover both my Van and the Uber "lease" car.

I hate to beg, ask for handouts (from people or the government) and prefer to make my own way in life. So it is my hopes I can setup (without being hassled by cops) on 16th Street Mall in Downtown Denver in a few days and start earning some money Outside of Steemit. Of course I will still write and post to Steemit with stories and pictures galore.

Update #1

Just found the information on operating a business on 16th St Mall in Downtown Denver.....guess I gonna have to figure out somewhere else to take/sell pictures.

http://www.downtowndenver.com/business-retail/vending-on-the-16th-street-mall

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

If you see any images you like and want to help support my photography please head over to My Alamy Page and buy all you want!

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

If you are a traveler, homeless, vagabonding, couchsurfing or just have the spirit of a Nomad then join us over at #teemnomad on PAL Discord here: https://discord.gg/SgJfQkH

"Freedom is living, living isn't freedom!" - by Richard Colbert (aka @venuspcs)

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

I am a proud supporter of minnowsupportproject (aka minnowsupport), if you haven't already joined check them out over on their Discord Channel by clicking below:

U5drWMHTzho28CV1Lm6Awwys14VUvHq.gif

Sort:  

Keep strong buddy.. put all your effort..

wow inspirational story.. hard work pays off. good luck with your steemit career.

may want to check with the people at the mall, local cops, etc to see if you'll be able to do this at the mall. I'm assuming you may get away with it for a while, but will be stopped eventaully. Maybe see who locally you can get a hold of for advise on how those things work and where you could set it up. Would hate to see you put a lot if time and effort into it just have the cops or mall security shoo you away shortly after setting up.

Yeah I got a few days before Poster Boards are ready so gonna check into it....there are street vendors setup there (if you see my earlier post where I photographed the 16th St. Mall and posted it here)....so I know it can be done, just gotta find out how.

That's a really awesome story @venuspcs , I think you're plan is brilliant, and love the whole idea about living of being a blogger and photographer. - Upvoted you 🙌
Can I ask you, what trickered it, and made you do it?

Got tired of working 80-100 hours a week, killing myself, only to get screwed every time I turned around!

Yeah I hear that @venuspcs. Life's to short to work yourself to death for something you don't love.
Then It's better the just throw yourself into it, rather than be saying "what if" later on

Like I say in the memo, I wish I could do more for you. I hope this works out for you. It might be way better than before too. I am excited that you have a plan and a goal. It should make an interesting story. Anyways here is a few bucks. It used to be worth a decent amount but right now now maybe $14? I hope it helps a little. I have had my rough times and am still struggling so I can relate. I was homeless less than 2 years ago. You will be in my thoughts and prayers and expect to hear more about this journey.

& a 100% upvote are what I offer. Among other things that I can't type here, jk!

Thanks for your support and friendship @nicnas....you have been invaluable help during this transition!

I wish you goodluck Robert, upvoted and resteemed. I wish i can help you more.

Inspiring and gutsy - good luck to you - resteeming

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.03 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm glad to see that you have a plan... And that you are able to purchase things that you need to reach that goal. Best wishes and continuous success.

All the best of luck with your new plans! I hope they will all work out and you can make a good living! Enjoy your freedom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47