Steemit can suck my fat hairy balls - at least the Auto-Vote Bots and lack of whale votes on quality posts can! #NSFW

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Now let me just say I love Steemit, or at least the idea behind Steemit.com. But when shit like this happens:

Notice my last three posts all got over 200 votes and made jack shit!

It really pisses me off. Now mind you I don't expect to make millions writing on Steemit, but if you look at my earlier posts I was getting good payouts on my quality original material. Now for some reason the Whales seem to have ignored my writing in favor of the same old stupid, rehashed bullshit I see on the front page every day. 

I don't know if it is because the Auto-Vote bots are hitting me and so the whales ignore it or what but it is really getting under my damn skin. I work way to hard to write good quality original material to have such lackluster responses to my posts. Especially when I see fake accounts hitting thousands of dollars.

To quote a friend of mine @Mr.Wang:


Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@mrwang/steemit-comment-bots-got-me-like

I have seen dozens of similar posts lately about this same issue and they all seem to share the same commonalities:

* Fake Accounts getting whale votes

* Plagiarism getting whale votes

* Poorly written, non original content such as meme's getting whale votes

* Quality Original Content making pennies

* Bots doing all kinds of crazy shit

Now I am going to keep writing because let's face it I have made money on Steemit, a fuck ton of it. But if Steemit is to succeed and attract more quality writers who stay and help build this brand these issues need to be resolved IMMEDIATELY. 

I can't stress that enough, I have already talked to numerous good writers who have left Steemit already or refused to even join because they Lurked and saw the crap that was going on. This is a real problem @ned, @dan, @dantheman and the rest of the dev team. It needs to be addressed and resolved posthaste!

Sort:  

Upvoted for balls. ROFL

Edit: Sexy #klyeart

you like my fat hair balls but you better not let the wife know!

Can't vote this hard enough my friend. Taken the time to word it very well. It's a rather large issue and it's preventing the good type of growth, turning away the writers that will actually provide this "original content" that they all repeat so often... My upvote is for the post. Love it.

@calva upvote this magnificent #klyeart at once!

I agree with you. But i don't really write for money, or care if anyone sees it. It would be nice, but if i invest too much hope into it, it's going to hurt if it doesn't get the recognition i hoped for. So i can't really relate to the frustration you're feeling.
I hope, for the sake of your sanity (and your fat hairy balls :) ), that something does get sorted soon. Until then, keep up the good work.

I started out that way, but once I got a few big payouts I started trying even harder just to watch the payouts keep shrinking.

did you ever think that maybe you started trying too hard?

Not really, I am writing the same stuff I did before, just finishing the stories I started and people wanted to hear more of. But I think my writing improved in form and function.

could be your writing style has outgrown your target audience? If your writing style has improved, then it's changed. If it's changed, you've maybe lost a vital piece that was keeping the users engaged? Or maybe its just the forum getting flooded with "Pick me Pick me i have a sob story worthy of a spot on Oprah" posts hoping to make a quick buck from selling a bullshit sob story that your posts are getting lost in the fog.

I think you hit the nail on the head about the market getting flooded with sob stories. But there is still a lot of other bs hitting the fp daily as well.

Maybe, just post big hairy balls more often ? Btw: check out my profile pic:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitqa/my-13-hours-straight-on-steemit-yesterday-not-a-complaint-a-good-thing

I think the problem is the really unequal SP distribution. The biggest SP holders simply follow some people and automatically upvote anything they produce with hundreds or thousands of dollars worth of voting power.

Meanwhile, I see a lot of people with dozens/hundreds of legit upvote from the small fish, producing quality content, initiation great discussions, replying to every comment and they barely hit $1.

Let's be honest, none of the trending posts autoupvoted by whales are worth thousands of times more than these gems. No single upvote should carry hundreds of dollars of rewards when most users' votes are worth like $0.0001.

Your balls aren't loading :(

Would you wax them, followed by a liberal application of icy hot, for whale upvotes?

Livestream, of course.

Well considering I offered to cut them off and eat them for BTC yea probably, if the price was right!

Didn't drop right away... might want to see a surgeon.

Nah I just wait and let you check them out....LOL

Gawdam right.. keep getting spammed with some stupid comments and I am looking for engaging followers who respond beyond just an initial comment.

You had a $700 payout five days ago and a $900 payout three days ago and you're complaining that the 'whales' don't give you enough love? Maybe they are people and they feel like you're treating them like a slot machine.

Did you read the article? I am more pissed that crap gets on the frontpage day after day while my writing (which got good pay outs then died even though it is continuations of stories that got those good payouts) is getting crap....It's not that I am not getting $1000 on each post, it is that I am not getting shit now, all of a sudden, while crap posts keep making lots of money and it is crap from the same people being Auto-Upvoted by Whales!

I did. I wish I had found it before @spookypooky pointed out that your photo didn't load.

But look. The people with the power to turn you from a minnow to a mackerel did so. And they continue to support (some of) your efforts. That said, they have a job to do and they are doing it. They are trying to turn this platform into something big and good. That involves getting a lot of people involved.

Some of the people they want to involve will create content that isn't your thing -- much like people offering to eat their own testicles as a retirement plan isn't my thing.

Don't worry about the content that other people like. Worry about your own content. Half of your own content is below your average.

Fake Accounts getting whale votes

correct into:
whale's fake accounts are getting whale votes or simply autovote :)

I intentionally didn't phrase it that was as I have no proof that the fake accounts are owned by whales!

Did you drag and drop those hairy balls or what?, lol

No but I will for enough money! LOL!

That hand drawn picture makes me want to touch myself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70