Do you Want to go to SteemFest2 in Lisbon? Tell us why and I might Help You with 500 STEEMs

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


sf2-ann.jpg
source: @steemfest

I have been inspired by this post by @firepower, so I have decided to help one Steemian who wants to go to SteemFest2 in Lisbon next October, but currently cannot because of budget.

The one that will be selected will receive the the liquid reward of this post, plus 500 STEEM from me.

The Steemian that will be selected need to have posted on Steemit in May of this year or before and have less that 5,000 in their wallet when adding STEEMs, STEEM Powers and SBDs.

To be selected this is what you need to do:

  • Resteem this post.
  • Reply to this post to explain why you want to go to SteemFest2 and why you are not able to do it.
  • Do not upvote your reply. Upvoting your own comment will disqualify you.

The one that will be selected will be the one that, on Sunday July 16th, at 11AM Pacific Time, has received the highest rewards on their comment.
I will not upvote comments on this post, so that I don't play favorites.

I will announce the winner on Sunday afternoon.


And the winner is @theowlhours, a college student in New York city, who hopes to emigrate to Canada.

Congratulations, @theowlhours. I will meet you in Lisbon at SteemFest2 next November.
Expect to receive the 500 STEEMs in 3 days and the liquid rewards of this post in 5 days.

I would encourage all those that upvoted these candidates: @sensei, @malik.roxane and @cybercodetwins to help them so that they could go to SteemFest2 too.



Sort:  

I would like to attend SteemFest2 because Steemit is the first place that made me feel like my dream of becoming an author was achievable. I’ve dreamed of being a professional writer ever since I was little, but it took the Steemit community to make my dream feel like something that I could actively reach for, rather than just wish for. The kind comments I have received on my posts mean more to me than I could ever express, because they are slowly teaching me to have faith in my own writing. In the time that I have been interacting with the people on Steemit, I have been awed by their generosity of spirit and encouragement.

Steemit is such a gift for content creators, because it gives them a forum in which to feel heard and valued. I would like to attend SteemFest2 so that I can meet some of the people who made this wonderful community happen, and so that I can meet all the other content creators I admire. I feel like so many of us would be friends, and the ability to exchange ideas and experiences in person would be amazing. To be surrounded by so many creative and passionate people, and to have the chance to speak with and learn from them, would be the experience of a lifetime.

Unfortunately, I am about to enter my last year of college in New York, and that comes with all the usual baggage of a college student. I have to be very careful about money, this year in particular because I am hoping to immigrate to Canada after I graduate. While I wish that a full trip to SteemFest2 was within my budget, I am trying to pull together the money for far more mundane things — application money for a visa, money to support myself while looking for a job after college, possibly even money for an immigration lawyer. So things are all a bit too complicated right now….

Needless to say, if I could attend SteemFest2, I would feel like Cinderella going to the ball. But even if my comment does not win, Vcelier, I just want to say how much I admire you for giving someone this chance. It encapsulates everything I love about Steemit — the kindness, the generosity, the sense of community. Best of luck to everyone else who is entering as well, and hopefully we will all be able to meet up at a SteemFest someday!

Oh my gosh! Thank you so much, vcelier!!! I didn't actually think I would win. O.o I'm so excited to go to SteemFest, and to get to meet and thank you in person!

You are welcome. And, yes, we will meet in Lisbon.

I’d love to attend SteemFest this year to come out and support my team, @agoric.systems in order to make a greater impact in the community. We plan on entering the hackathon and I believe I have much to offer the team as a designer/developer. We want to make a difference.

Some more information about me:
I am new to the crypto world and Steemit. My current goal is to learn as much as possible while interacting with other Steemians. I’d love to become better ingrained into this community of ours. To become an evangelist that is able to share the value and beauty of this platform and industry to my friends and family.

Ultimately:
Being able to participate in SteemFest would be an excellent way to bridge me into a future where I am knowledgable and experienced with Steem, its network and everything it has to offer. If I receive this opportunity, I will definitely take full advantage in complete gratitude.

Please and thank you,

Sensei

Super legit dude to have at Steemfest! ^^^

hey, sensei from LA, too! cool! welcome to crypto world and steemit, fellow Steemian and Angeleno ;) looks like you and us joined same time in July 2016.

Nice cybercodetwins, glad to hear it! Love to know there are some nearby Steemians. We should link up sometime!

Loading...

Greetings!
This is a truly noble cause one of which is what I love so much about this Steemit community!
I won a ticket to go to last years SteemFest1 but gave it away and sponsored 2 other Steemians to go in my place with plane tickets and everything because my son was being born the week of SteemFest1.
I really want to go this year because I have been very involved in Steemit for 1 year now. I have made a Steemit Fashion line, organized Steemit meetups, gotten lots of friends and family to join.
Maybe most notably I have not spent or cashed out ONE SINGLE $ worth of steam since I joined.
Plus I am the founder of The Garden of Eden a sustainable eco village. Where we live on $1 a day per person. We feed tens of thousands of FREE meals each year and save over 350,000 lbs of trash from the landfill each year. We also house, clothe and educate people every day. We do all this without any government funding or private benefactors. You can check out our web site to see the truth of the matter at www.intothegardenofeden.com
If I go I will help promote Steemit to the world, I will bring hand made steemit gear to people and also give presentations on sustainability of which will help the entire earth as a whole.
PLEASE vote for me.
SteemON!

💯 % Vote for @quinneaker. You are one of the most generous Steemians Around. Your contribution to STEEMfest2 would be amazing.

Thank you @stephen-somers !
I appreciate the support and will not let you down!

He gets my vote!

Yea!
Thanks!
Tell your friends!

want to got to SteemFest2 because:

  • want to take on steemfest2 hackathon and help innovate in the blockchain/crypto tech space. Got passports ready but don't got the funds for a round ticket due to budget. Enough for a one way. We invest our time and contributions in tech.
  • been on steemit since last July
  • we know how to buy plane tickets with crypto
  • we are developers in the iot space but hitting at blockchain space hard where sis got accepted to MIT cryptocurrency digital initiative bootcamp last yr because steemit help us learn more about blockchain and crypto to where we at now. Imagine how far we can make steemit known to contributors and our communities 📈 if attended steemfest2 🎇🎇🎇
p.s one of your local steemians made it to this bootcamp ;)

https://medium.com/mit-media-lab-digital-currency-initiative/25-students-selected-for-the-mit-intro-to-cryptocurrency-bootcamp-for-people-of-color-and-women-fae3bcd9fe22

I dont know if is allowed, i start in steemit in june, And o suppose that i am desqualified bit if you want to let me participate, i will very happy for that , i wish go yo steem festival because i am from Ecuador And i dont have the resources for go to others country like usa, And my mothers lives Spain for send money for my family, im actually posting poetry And storys, And use correctly all the oportunities that i found un my road, i really wish the best for all, thanks

And i will very excited for discover new experiences in any others country

SteemFest is in Portugal

Wow! Totally worth resteeming this one! That's very generous of you Vincent!

Good luck to everyone.

😀👍
Love the positivity 🤜🤛
Have a great weekend,
See you in Portugal 🇵🇹

Thats right!
@TeamSteem is a TEAM player for the greater good of Steem!

About me

I am a 17 year old guy for now, But Here's my story. When I was born my family used to live in a very small village Located in North India named Pichopa kalan, A very small village having population of about 3,216 people and 601 houses The primary occupation was farming and basic amenities such as electricity, water were not available electricity at that time used to come at a fixed time for about 2 hours a day so that people can use their motors to fill their tanks of water. I remember that I used to go in fields with my father and grandfather when I was about 3-5 years old. My grandfather used to take me on his shoulder to the fields where they plant crops, give water to them and I just play around in the fields my mother used to come to fields in afternoon and bring food for all of us. We used to eat food under the shelter of tree.

My grandfather was retired from army with 40% disability because of a bullet that made his one eye blind. Since then my grandfather cannot able to see from one eye. My great-grand father was also in army. My grandfather because went outside the village in his army period knows the importance of education. He provided my father good quality education. My father also wanted me to get education so we shifted to a small town named bhiwani. There my father worked as an advocate in district court. I was 5 years old at that time. We could have came to bhiwani early but the problem was the fields my grandfather wants to take care of fields and my mother was only cook at home. so the problem was who will cook for grandfather if we move to bhiwani. The problem was solved when my uncle got married. A new cook came to home my grandfather told my father to leave village and go to bhiwani for my studies. My father did the same and admitted me into a private school.

Bhiwani was also a type of village but it's better than my previous village pichopa kalan. It's a type of town. So life at bhiwani was not even simple my dad was new and has to make a good reputation as a advocate. He worked very hard to pay my school fee and then he purchased a motorcycle with his money. We used to go to our village on weekends on that bike ( me, mom and dad ). My father earned good reputation as a lawyer there and when I was in 5th standard He bought a car by taking loan from bank. We lived there for 10 years then again my father decided to go to a big city for my higher education I was 15 years old by then. My father became one of the best lawyers there. And we again shifted to Chandigarh also known as the city beautiful. But There was a big problem that it became very hard for my father to again earn reputation here so my father took a harsh decision of going back bhiwani once a week the whole trip once a week is of about (580km). My mother always afraid since whenever we used to visit Chandigarh we saw at least one accident on the way. For me my father had to work so hard. Still he goes bhiwani once a week but now he has earned some reputation here as a lawyer.
Then I tried to find ways to earn money online and I found steemit. And I am sure that I will be able to pay my second semester fee only and only by steem. That's my journey of life and it's still going on!

Why I want to go-

  • In my life I never visited abroad.It's a big chance for me to come and join other authors in steemfest.
  • For a person like me that belongs to a medium Indian family it's a huge thing.
  • My parents still don't fully believe about steemit.
  • I want to meet people that helped me here not virtually but in person. I want to thank you for their support and help.

This is really cool of you! I can't go but I am exited that it is happening. So many good things can come out of getting so many cool steemians all in one place.

Portugal is beautiful. I used to live there. Wonderful beaches. I would love to go but i am too busy raising my kids. I hope who ever wins deserves it. One love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82