The benefits of social groups within Steemit and Why you need to be part of one.

in #steemit7 years ago

image.png

I've been part of a group "EcoTrain", for more than 4 months now. I can't imagine how steemit would have turned out as an experience if I wasn't part of it.

I wanted to dedicate this article to social groups and how I see them, also sharing some personal experience.

Being part of something


After 7 months of being a minnow, I saw that steemit is a hard place to fit in. Most people end up having to change their style of expression due to seeing the current trending information on the platform. Sadly this somewhat pushes them to find niches and writings styles unsuitable for the overall self-expression.

When I joined I knew that I would always post whatever was on my heart. Regardless of the niche.

Everything was going so hard due to this decision. People tend to forget you because they have some sort of expectations of what you write.

Luck be my way, I got invited to join "EcoTrain". A group that was full of like-minded individuals like me.

I have enjoyed every second of being part of it.

Being part of the group gave me a chance to find content that was relatable to what I wrote. It gave me the opportunity to read better-written material thus allowing me to learn, improve and grow.

Why you should be part of a Group?


As we can all see, the platform is blasting off to the moon with higher speeds every single day. It's getting harder and harder to organize anything and the "NEW" post section is a desolate place that nobody visits anymore.

Finding what you want to read and finding people to read what you want to write is getting harder and harder as many new steemians join the platform.

Sooner or later spam will increase from the newcomers and it will be even harder than that.

To be able to dodge these issues without waiting for a social organization Fork/Update, you can simply find a closed group and be part of a small ecosystem/society.

I promise you this will change the whole way you see steemit.

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed the info !

JOIN

Sort:  

lovely post vangelov. I totally agree, OF COURSE, and know how much more enjoyable and supportive life on Steemit is when you have a few friends around. It is just like real life of course! but with Steemit we need friends even more as there can be so much we need to know in order to make things work well for us..

Steem on BRother, our valued ecoTrain passenger!

Thanks for the kind words Alex <3

Yes! So excited to have finally hopped on board!

I would love to join a group, the only thing that has stopped me in the past was using the discord server. It constantly ran in the background on my system and slowed my computer down.

How does slack work? I do wish Steemit were like FB, in only this one tinny way for groups. No extra pass or leaving the site to participate.

Slack is kinda the same as Discord, yet a bit harder to get used to.

I definitely agree with this. I'm still pretty new to Steemit and am beginning to make friends that I regularly interact with. I wouldn't say they are part of one "group" but I am content and happy with the interactions.

I recently joined the Hip-Hop fan group that is now my new people to really converse with on Discord and what not. I still love the people I already made connections with through just finding their posts, but looking forward to minglng with an actual group like you said.

Happy to know you have found your way in a closed community group <3

I feel this acutely too! I just joined ecotrain (hi!) and I can already feel the difference of being a part of something vs flying solo.

Sounds good! Definitely want to expand my reach and also find quality posts. Hopefully I will :)

Thank you for this timely information. I'm a newbie on steemit. In search for a group to join.

Thanks
I also want to be part of such groups
upvoted!

I agree one could easy get lost out in the big ocean, I'm really happy to be on board and have such great passengers with me;

thanks so much!! I just found out about Ecotrain and would love to join, do you have any advice on how to best engage with these communities?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62