You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In your own words: A lot of effort for a flag?

in #steemit6 years ago

The phenomenon of rewording comments to plagiarize them using other words has been ongoing for months. I have posted about it in the past, and regularly see it in comment sections.

I do try to point it out, and ask the posters of those comments why they do it. I have never received a reply from any of them. I still dunno if there's an app, or if they use a bot to do so.

I did have a look at a couple users blogs, and they are capable of making comments themselves. I noted the first account I saw do this was also participating in some kind of ESL education regarding synonyms, which is essential to this plagiarism technique.

It's weird, counter-productive to Steemit, and social media in general, and I suspect it's an undertaking seeking to enable automating salient comments without triggering plagiarism tests.

Keep awareness of this high, as I suspect it's increasing in volume, and could produce AI that degrades all social media, and doom Steemit to be no more than a platform for AI rewards mining, at the expense of actual people.

Thanks!

Sort:  

This is one that came up:

https://wordnet.princeton.edu/

I saw do this was also participating in some kind of ESL education regarding synonyms, which is essential to this plagiarism technique.

I actually thought it might be something like this at first but I don't think so.

and doom Steemit to be no more than a platform for AI rewards mining, at the expense of actual people.

too late... :D

I am hoping that the coming AI will be counteracted with another AI and we can witness the destruction of the world because of copy paste.

"...we can witness the destruction of the world because of copy paste."

LOL

That would be a surprising apocalypse. And I though death by unga bunga was unexpected!

hopefully people start thinking so they don't need artificial constructs to do it for them, it's hard emulating people, you would need one crazy AI and that's probably not a good thing :D

I've seen a AI written post, it's quite old I can find the link if you need it :) I think yeah I've seen it over @creatr haha there is a cap on busy as well I can only scroll back 7 months, ... the fact nobody bothered to add some organisation to this messy media doesn't help either, buuut whatever we can do it ourselves and or wait for hiveminds and zergs to spawn ...

hahah that took a while, so you want it :D you want the juicy details, do you want the AI written post :) I can link you that, I can link you to a nice ted talk as well on the topic, had myself confused but I found it :D

https://steemit.com/steemit/@renzoarg/is-it-plagiarism-or-is-it-innovative-a-bot-written-article-by-laura

While we are at it, take a look at the comments on steem from a year ago, maybe it's not the best example :D I write a lot of comments :D

https://steemit.com/story/@creatr/content-creation-is-hard-work

so yeah don't fear AI, it's just a tool, fear stupid people getting their hands on it, we have a lot of shit already, instead of taking responsibility for the actions taken, we are trying to slime our way out of it and getting someone/another to take responsibility and solve the problems ...

usher AI the savior and protector .. :D

I don't know why we keep doing this silly play on ourselves, like the wars keeping peace, because you know fear fear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62