You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steemit Is The Platform Of The People And The Answer To Censorship

in #steemit7 years ago

"...because of money involved, people shy away from confronting ..."

An excellent point. Self censorship is censorship, after all.

The stake-weighting problem I raised had specifically to do with control of the witnesses, who post the code that defines the blockchain. While I also believe, as you point out, that stake-weighting ordinary votes is problematic, that's a different problem.

The market for Stinc and Steemit, as the code is written, is essentially the 38 whales that control the vast majority of Steem. Yesterday I read a post that actually states that @ned is the particular focus of most increase on Steemit. I do not know enough to argue that either way, and without specific knowledge that such is true, I'll not speculate that it is so.

I do know the whales have the Steem, and I see the system decidedly benefits them. That argument I can make.

Sort:  

I do not shy away from the issue. In fact, today i wrote an article about a related issue. The surveillance @cheetah it's really pissing me off how it singles things out and throws it all on one big pile.
You can read it here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@bifilarcoil/why-cheetah-sucks-and-why-i-m-going-to-call-this-discrimination
I'm looking forward to articles about flagging as sensorship.
As Steemit is still in beta I feel that now is the time to raise our voices.
It sucks that we who actually like the platform have to be the ones to critisize it. But NOW IS THE TIME. Don't wait until we are flagged out of the picture. Burn the flag. :-) Lets see what the anarchists have to say about this.
Far as i know I'm not an anarchist, but I have the feeling that this might be a very good issue for the real anarchists to fire some neurons at.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44