You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PSA: A Friendly Reminder to Always be Cognizant of Maintaining Good OpSec

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is a good post. Folks should be more careful.

But, it is hard to predict what info might be sensitive, such as exif data on pics, or, as someone pointed out, mail that gets included in a pic or vid one posts.

Particularly in this post 9/11 world, where we practically daily hear some new outrage about the USG surveilling folks, unmasking, and accessing our financial and business data, potentiating unscrupulous insider investment info.

I know for a fact this has happened. All the NSA consultants that sneak data out of the building don't turn it over to wikileaks, or the FBI. Some of them make money from it.

This is, for example, why I don't even have a bank account anymore. Other than Steem, there is no access to any currency of mine online. No paypal, credit cards, nada.

Also why I don't ever spend Steem, or have a different wallet than Steemit. Mebbe I'm paranoid, but I've been hacked, MITM'd, and etc., in the past, and it has compromised some business info once, so I just don't put it out there anymore.

On the other hand I sleep in a rough neighborhood with my door open.

Kinda a big failure of opsec there, but I feel safer in person than online, for some reason.

Sort:  

I should make a post about how I lost control of my bitcoin keys. Sharing a computer sux

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70