PSA: A Friendly Reminder to Always be Cognizant of Maintaining Good OpSec

in #steemit7 years ago

What is OpSec?

"Operations security (OPSEC) is a term originating in U.S. military jargon, as a process that identifies critical information to determine if friendly actions can be observed by enemy intelligence, determines if information obtained by adversaries could be interpreted to be useful to them, and then executes selected measures that eliminate or reduce adversary exploitation of friendly critical information." Source: wikipedia.com

In layman's terms OpSec is keeping your sensitive info out of reach of people who may use it for malicious or nefarious purposes..

The internet is a place full of all sorts of folks from all walks of life with varying degrees of intelligence and skill. While most users seem to be intelligent enough to keep their personal data tucked away from the potential dangers one may face from unknown forces residing on the web it's come to my attention that some users may not be aware that their security and safety can potentially be threatened by sharing sensitive data.

Would You Give a Stranger Your Address?

Just as the rest of the world the net has some less than honourable people or groups that prey on folks whom leak their personal data to the world. With something as simple as posting your home phone number somewhere online it's possible for someone to get your full name, address as well as other data which could potentially used to have your possessions stolen (burglary), launch a physical attack (home invasion) or otherwise use the info to disrupt your household (send a swat team to kick down your door, order you pizza, mail you a box of feces etc etc).

Before posting things like emails and phone numbers ANY place that strangers on the net may be able to access it always ask yourself one thing:

Is This Information Safe to Share?

If you have to think about it for more than a few seconds chances are you shouldn't be posting it publicly! The safety of your household may very well rest on being aware that by sharing certain data publicly you are no longer anonymous and that your identity and location could fall into the hands of someone wishing to cause harm you you.

What NOT to Post Publicly:

  • Phone numbers (cell or landline)
  • Personal Email
  • Images of the Front of Your House
  • Social Insurance Number
  • Anything You'd Prefer Your Enemy Not Know

In this age of information we currently reside in continues to further integrate technology into our lives it's essential to remember that all it takes is posting anything listed above once online somewhere and your anonymity as well as safety are terribly compromised. Unless you like the idea of having the whole internet know where you sleep at night I urge you to always aire on the side of caution when posting info that could be used against you. Be smart and stay safe folks!


Vote @KLYE for Witness
Sort:  

Amazing post and a simple reminder like this, is often timely for many many people.

--

--

https://twitter.com/BarryDutton/status/901257614973186049

BarryDutton Barry Dutton tweeted @ 26 Aug 2017 - 01:38 UTC

Great Piece about #ISP #Security written by a good guy in the space. #InternetSecurity #OpSec #OnlineSecurity #Dev

steemit.com/steemit/@klye/… / https://t.co/mGzkpnKxzH

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

It is fun to agree with people LOL

(:

Sometimes when I want to leave a comment, and I have word on my own language but suddenly I get stuck when try to write in English. So I search a similiar comment which similiar with my idea and I just write agree.. He..he..! The difference about grammar and the ambigious word between Indonesia and English make me confuse. If I write litteraly as exactly meaning and tranfer that word in English you will laugh... For example saya sedang tidak enak badan (I am feel sick) if we try to translate in exactly word as writing in dictyonary. We will get this translation "My body is not delicious". Ha..ha...! :)

I am going to UV this comment, because it is awesome LOL.

I thought you were Japanese for some reason LOL

Another one is pictures of your mail with the tracking bar code or numbers showing. I've seen a lot of people on youtube expose themselves this way.

Ah yes! Good addition!

mfw I'm already paranoid about OPSEC and then I learn more about how compromised EVERY network is and how compromised the infrastructure itself is --
charlieConspiracy.jpg

Me a few months ago

This Is very useful info.. I guess privacy is very very important this day.. protect your information against people u might use it against u and reveal it to who can benefit u..love this post.. upvoted... I am into photography and art... I posted some photos the I saw this post...plz do check my post out for ur support..Thx .. followed u now ..

Cheers man,This post stems from some spamtard today that was trying to pull tough guy and told me to phone him.. Publicly posting his phone number. An absolute rookie move and potentially dangerous to ones safety.

He'd been beaking at me for about 4-5 hours and abruptly shut the fuck up when I told him his mothers name, the fact he still lived with her and posted his address on a map. While I have zero intent of actually doing anything wrong towards the idiot his info is now completely public and the very fact he so willingly handed over his phone number only to have me "hand his ass to him" made me realize that people here on Steemit may need a reminder that their safety could possibly rest on being selective with what info they share.

Have a gooder..! Stay safe!

This is why I don't go do chat rooms or get very personal....I've had stalkers in my past moderating a Buddhist chat board and organizing Buddhist teachings....there are some really _______people out there in fleshtime ... im really friendly and nice to a point...

Stay safe!

This is a good post. Folks should be more careful.

But, it is hard to predict what info might be sensitive, such as exif data on pics, or, as someone pointed out, mail that gets included in a pic or vid one posts.

Particularly in this post 9/11 world, where we practically daily hear some new outrage about the USG surveilling folks, unmasking, and accessing our financial and business data, potentiating unscrupulous insider investment info.

I know for a fact this has happened. All the NSA consultants that sneak data out of the building don't turn it over to wikileaks, or the FBI. Some of them make money from it.

This is, for example, why I don't even have a bank account anymore. Other than Steem, there is no access to any currency of mine online. No paypal, credit cards, nada.

Also why I don't ever spend Steem, or have a different wallet than Steemit. Mebbe I'm paranoid, but I've been hacked, MITM'd, and etc., in the past, and it has compromised some business info once, so I just don't put it out there anymore.

On the other hand I sleep in a rough neighborhood with my door open.

Kinda a big failure of opsec there, but I feel safer in person than online, for some reason.

I should make a post about how I lost control of my bitcoin keys. Sharing a computer sux

This a good poat brother @klyer.
I like it.

IAM STEEMIAN INDONESIAN

Lose lips sink ships!

Great info and post.
And don't forget an alpha atheros card! Kidding!!!
🌞

It's not hacking, it's penetration testing.. I swear! ;)

LOL.

You said penetration.

Lol oh yeah opsec not pentesting!
Opsec for penetration testing!😂😶😇
Haha

Is that what humans call "condoms?"

I wouldn't know, I don't use them😂 I'm a Nordic/Reptilian👽😉😂

Very good reminder to all of us to be aware of sharing our sensitive info online-upped. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99