You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Obsessive Downvoting /Tagging Posts- A Method of Silencing & Censoring Curators on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

"...I suspect that Down Voting presently also negatively affects reputation scores"

It does. The reason @berniesanders reputation is -18 (last I saw) is because he has incited even more powerful accounts to retaliate against his flags.

It is for this reason that I so oppose the use of flags except in cases of abuse of free speech. If you disagree with someone, then state your case. If you flag them, you aren't disagreeing, you are attempting to censor them.

If you censor because you disagree, YOU are the problem.

Note: I am using 'you' in the general sense.

Sort:  

I appreciate that you've responded on this topic.

I would really appreciate it if you could provide references to current Steemit code or documentation to support this, if possible? Thanks in advance...

@skeptic can tell you personally =p @berniesanders flagged him into the negative more than once, IIRC.

Best I can recall, the white paper might have been where I read it. If you haven't read it, it's not too long, and relatively math/jargon free. It's linked in the menu just to the right of your avatar pic.

I don't really recall where I gained the specific understanding, except by watching what happened to @skeptic, and then @berniesanders, in return.

Only a flagger with higher rep than yours can decrease your rep, IIRC, unlike rewards. I bet Google could search up particular and precise details.

Thanks for the added comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67