Steemit UI update: You can now hide resteems from user profiles

in #steemit6 years ago

Have you ever wanted to check out an author, but have been met with a huge wall of resteems? I know I have, and it can be pretty annoying if I'm interested in seeing what that author has actually written. But it seems like these problems are a thing of the past - at least if you use Steemit.com.

When I was browsing Steemit this morning I saw that I was able to hide resteems from profiles. Clicking this button will give you an easy way to only see the real posts from that author.

hideresteem.jpg

The only annoying part of it is that you have to do it each time you want to hide the resteems, and there is currently no way to change your settings into permanently hiding all resteems from author's profiles.

There is also no way to hide resteems from your blog roll, but hopefully that is something that Steemit Inc. will update in the future. There is also no way to do it from other Steem interfaces such as Busy.org right now.

Ideally I would love if we were able to choose between "Follow users" and "Follow users and resteems from this user" when following a profile, but I guess this update is a good start.

How do the rest of you feel about the feature? Do you intend to hide resteems from certain profiles, or will this feature go unused?

Sort:  

but I guess this update is a good start.

I concur with you in the post especially on your optimism over the future of steem interface tools.

Do you intend to hide resteems from certain profiles, or will this feature go unused?

I’ve started using this tool, and I’m loving it, it’s a good filter even though we’re still looking to see it better like we agree above.

Thanks @valth for sharing this, remember this is weekend, make yourself comfortable and put smiles on other people’s faces.

I’m a friend @maxdevalue

I'm glad you agree with the usefulness of this feature, @maxdevalue! Have a nice weekend :)

I posted about this the other day. I think it's a pretty good feature. My understanding is that they're not really trying to discourage resteeming so they aren't removing it from your homepage yet.

I think it's great for people that either resteem a lot and would like to look through their own blog, or like to look at profiles of other people.

Yep, this is far from discouraging resteems in my opinion, and it's great to be able to choose if you want them or not. I'm glad to hear you also like this new feature!

Thanks a lot for sharing this information, which is very useful for Rookies like me who need more time sometimes to understand what's directly clear for experts here on Steemit.

You're welcome! Steem can be very complex for new users, so it's definitely a need for explanations like this one. If you ever have a question about Steem, feel free to ask me anytime, and I will do my best to answer you.
Or ask it on musing.io, and you will likely get a good answer very quickly, and maybe a decent upvote at the same time :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @valth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.151 which ranks you at #871 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 866).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #29.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74