Steemit suggestion: Extra feed option in the menu

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

DQmV5qbNQ7AGcpMdtUDyeK5ks26wgznuKJTZnLVya7eDt1K_1680x8400.jpeg

A little while ago I wrote a post where I touched upon the "Hot" and "Trending" feeds and mainly their criteria. You can check out that post here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@valderrama/steemit-suggestion-notification-when-your-post-enters-the-hot-or-trending-section-and-clarification-of-criteria

But I wasn't done with the way posts are presented here on Steemit. Today, after a scrolling session through several of the feeds, I started thinking it might be interesting to add a new option which presents us posts selected by a different set of criteria. Because in my opinion I miss something...

How do I look for posts to read

I'll explain my reading behavior first. When I get on Steemit wanting to read content I basically only check feeds in 3 different ways:

  1. I click on "Home" to see see what the people I follow have written
  2. I click on "New" to see what's really brand new (but I don't scroll down that much because I dislike endless feeds!)
  3. I click on a "Category" in the side bar to read posts of the categories that I like

I think option 1 & 2 are self explanatory, let's simply leave these as is.

Before I jump to option 3, the reason i don't check the "Hot" & "Trending" feeds is because I believe that if a post is really good or interesting someone I follow would have resteemed it for me to read, thus showing up in the "Home" feed. Now usually these posts already have so many comments that if I even wanted to comment the chance that my comment will never be replied to is really high. I'm not a resteemer for the money and normally I also don't leave a comment only to get in on the fun. Furthermore these 2 feeds tend to be a lot more static than of course the "New" feed, so I mainly see the same content there for longer periods of time. So I don't tend to click on them.

The promoted feed is a feed I really NEVER click on.

Option 3 must definitely be left as is. We want filters, we need filters. But there's a problem with them. The more people read posts by filtering on 1 or 2 specific categories the chances of them reading really good content written for another category decreases and decreases. They filter out everything else by using Steemit this way. Probably a lot of good content goes to waste for these people with this kind of reading behavior, unless someone they follow happens to resteem and they check their "Home" feed post of course.


Suggestion

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-15 om 15.39.08.png

I believe there is room for a new way to feed us content. A new option which gets us out of our own reading comfort zone for a short little while, exposing us to content with a high chance of us never seeing it. What I would like is a new option which could be called something like the "Surprise me" feed and to show us posts that comply with the following:

  • the feed itself holds a maximum of 10 posts only
  • posts can be brand new and up to 5 days old
  • of those 10 posts 5 must be from minnows
  • of those 10 posts 3 must be from dolphins
  • of those 10 posts 2 must be from whales
  • the feed refreshes automatically every hour
  • it doesn't matter if a post also qualifies for any of the other feeds
  • all posts are picked at random complying with the criteria as stated above
  • EDIT: thanks to @phelimint & @somethingsubtle > as we don't want to see copy/paste garbage perhaps it could be made possible that if @cheetah marks a post as copy/paste work it cannot get into this feed

By having this feed, everytime I get on Steemit I can still check my "Home" feed to see what the people I follow have to say. Go on to the "New" feed to see if there is something fresh that I may want to read and then I would move on to the "Surprise me" feed to get surprised.

I would enjoy reading your thoughts about this.


Like this post? Feel free to upvote, comment and resteem. And, as always... keep up the good work and may the Steem be with you!

Sort:  

That's an interesting idea, I like the idea of getting some minnows some exposure, I wonder if the posts should be vested somehow to ensure they actually have some good content thought.

I would be for no vesting. What one may not find interesting may be interesting for someone else.

I just meant vest it for quality. That it's not spam or cut and paste garbage.

Ah of course... we could add that if Cheetah marks a posts for being copy/paste stuff it cannot get into this feed. I'll edit the post!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by valderrama from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 14.29 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @valderrama.

Intersting idea. A random section would definitely help with content discovery.

Would you have any reputation or vote limits to prevent it from being filled with weaker posts?

I read your post, hadn't seen it. Good post to read, I hope some of our ideas will find a way onto the platform.

I've edited my post after your suggestion of that of someone before you. I don't think we should filter too much in the beginning. Weaker posts finding it's way may result in more flagging/curation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57