Steemit suggestion: Notification when your post enters the Hot or Trending section. And clarification of criteria!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

suggestionssss.jpg

I was having a discussion with with my buddies @thetimminator and @spartan23r about our posts often only getting a handful of views and a few up votes. Ocassionally a post gets viewed a bit more but often some hard work seems to go down the drain. We ended up talking about what it would take to end up in the Hot or Trending section and how incredibly awesome that would be. Then I asked what the criteria for that to happen even are. They both didn't know, I didn't know.

I looked it up in the FAQ and this is what I found:

Hot - Popular posts at the moment.
Trending - Posts with the most amount of votes, stake-weighted, recently.

The Hot criteria is very unclear. What are popular posts? The Trending criteria I can understand, but it would be nice to know what 'recently' is exactly. Just so we know.

Anyway... we are just a few minnows and the chances of us ending up in the Trending section are extremely small. Chances that we may end up in the Hot section are probably very very small as well, but I reckon this might be something that is reachable with a little bit of hard work and a lot of luck.

Today I wrote a post which all of a sudden got 4 resteems! I got so excited! I popped up the Hot section to see if I was there, lol, but I quickly stopped scrolling of course. I guess we need a few more resteems at least before we deserve a place in the Hot section.

With this post I want to see if the FAQ could be clarified a bit more regarding the criteria about these sections. And while thinking about it I thought... How would I even know if a post got into one of these sections?

I know that the eSteem app doesn't have a notification in it's settings for it (@good-karma is this correct?) so perhaps it's not that easy or even possible to build a notification for it. But it would be nice it this is something that can be added to the Steemit and the eSteem roadmap.

Would love to hear your thoughts about this.


Like this post? Feel free to upvote, comment and resteem. And, as always... keep up the good work and may the Steem be with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27