Having Difficulties Creating New Steemit Accounts For Friends.. Can Anyone Help?

in #steemit7 years ago

I've had a couple of friends here ask for help in creating them accounts on Steemit and when I have attempted to go ahead and set their accounts up with them, I have hit the same problems repeatedly... I have looked in the Steemit Chat groups for 'support' and 'tech-support', but there's not much traffic in there - so I'm wondering if anyone here can help.

The successful steps are:

  1. Start the Signup Process on Steemit.com
  2. Enter an email address, username and phone number.
  3. Validate the Email address.

The repeating problems are:

  • The SMS confirmation does not send in some cases.
  • Even when the SMS confirmation does send and I enter the confirmation code - the signup process does not complete and just goes back to attempting to send an SMS out again.
  • One one occasion, the SMS process didn't even ask me for a confirmation code at all.
  • I was informed that the phone number had already been used, but this was the first time the number had been used.
  • I have not been able to create any accounts other than my own one which I created over a year ago.

In short, almost every step of the signup process appears to be broken for me and this is repeating over several weeks.

I am using Firefox here to do this.

Anyone know what to do? Or who to speak to?

Thanks,
Ura Soul

Sort:  

anon.steem is the easiest way to make a new account, but it costs steem like the other tools. Really simple process though, there was no guesswork at all when I used it:
https://anon.steem.network/

However, if time isn't too much of an issue, you can wait until the next hard fork, called Velocity, which is supposed to allow for the creation of new accounts without requiring phone numbers. These new accounts will have limited posting bandwidth and empty wallets, but they will be easy to create.

ah yes, thanks for that - i had seen that before, but didn't have it saved. I'll maybe suggest they use that if all else fails.

I just used this service and it worked perfectly - they charged 10 steem and the resulting account contains 6 steem of SP, so it actually cost 4 steem for the account creation.

I'm glad you got it going. It sucks that it costs money to make an account, but considering what it takes for an account to be created and what can be done with an account, it's totally worth it.

Although I had no issues myself, I heard of this several times now. There are other ways to create accounts. But you have to pay the fees that otherwise would be payed by steemit.com.

Here's an article about this: https://steemit.com/news/@timcliff/new-tool-from-busy-org-create-new-steem-blockchain-accounts-with-steemconnect

https://v2.steemconnect.com/accounts/create

Simple Instructions - Pay the account creation fee (no delegation)

  1. Go to https://v2.steemconnect.com/accounts/create
  2. Enter the account name for the new account you want to create. The box will be green if the name is available; red if it is already in use.
  3. Save and backup the password. It is extremely important that this does not get lost (including due to hard drive failures, fires, etc). If the key is lost, the account is lost. There is NO WAY to get back into the account without the key. Make sure it is safe!
  4. Go to https://steemd.com/ and find the current value for account_creation_fee. Multiply the value by 30. Put this amount in for STEEM. (At the time of writing this post, the account creation fee is 0.5 STEEM, so "15.000 STEEM" goes into that field.)
  5. Make sure you have at least that amount of STEEM in your account. (It should be liquid STEEM, not SP.)
  6. Click "Continue".
  7. Sign the transaction with your account and private active key.
  8. That's it! The account is created. You can verify at https://steemd.com/@accountname.

Thanks for the tip, yes, I was aware of that option - but it's overly complicated and too pricey for many users. At least there is backup though.

That's right unfortunately. It's only a workaround.

You are not alone! I have experienced the same issues and it can be so frustrating and time consuming. This could be keeping a number of users away from Steemit.

that's kind of 'good' to know ;)
I had wondered if the problem was related to my browser, since I know firefox isn't the most common browser today.. but it looks like there are real bugs.

It has nothing to do with the browser. I signed up a friend yesterday and within hours she was approved. I introduced two more last week and they are yet to be approved. Could be a bug and the sooner it is sorted the better for new users.

Sharing this because others are running into the same issue!

@mericanhomestead has been trying to bring over 50,000 + subscribers from YT and they are having difficulties on the sign ups...

I see, ok - I'm not even sure who is responsible for fixing this stuff.. I will ask around.

I helped my brother in creating a new account yesterday. He did the registration and was ready an hour later. Verification and everything. I was surprised how fast it was because when I did, it took a couple of days.

He used Chrome, maybe Steemit has some issues with Firefox? Or with some extensions/browser add-ons? Many sites are completely ruined because of them and simply turning them off could fix the issue.

Hope it helps!

Ok, I see - I'll have another go with chrome tomorrow then. :)

I recently created a second account and got hung up on the phone verify too. It didn't seem the text was sending. I used some online SMS services, but in every case, the number had already been used. However, the SMS was sending.

So, I set up a Google Voice account for my current phone number. Google will assign a different number, and you can check the SMS and grab the code right from the interface. Worked like a charm.

Here's more info - https://support.google.com/voice/answer/115061?hl=en

Thanks for the tip. Unfortunately, that service requires a US phone number - which I don't have.

My friend sign up, his account was aproved in half hour. He used usual method you described. I tried to make accounts for my friends, had same problems as you.

hmm, ok - do that suggests maybe there is a cookie or even IP address issue occurring.

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @ura-soul. Please vote @swelker101 for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64